The Arab Spring

This digital collection documents the events in Northern Africa and the Middle East starting in January 2011. Content includes blogs, social media and news sites about Egypt, Yemen, Libya, Sudan and other countries. Countries separated by site groups (scroll down the page to see all of them). Archived content is in Arabic, English, and French.

A web archive collected by American University in Cairo. provides access to web content related to the contemporary Egyptian political scene, documenting political developments and ideologies, leading players, and various forms of expression. A major focus (and the inception point for the collection) is the January 25, 2011 revolution and its aftermath, from the time of the initial 18 Days of demonstrations at Cairo’s Tahrir Square to subsequent periods of protest and successive changes in government and presidential leadership, through 2013 and 2014.

Features oral histories, photographs, video recordings, and visual art that document the January 25th Revolution. The digital collection preserves the history of the 18 Days in Egypt and beyond by collecting content from activists, participants, and observers from the American University in Cairo as well as members of the larger Egyptian and global communities.

Tahrir Documents is an ongoing effort to archive and translate activist papers from the 2011 Egyptian uprising and its aftermath. Materials were collected from demonstrations in Cairo’s Tahrir Square and published in complete English translation alongside scans of the original documents. The project is not affiliated with any political organization, Egyptian or otherwise. The website https://www.tahrirdocuments.org/ is not working; use this link to access old versions of the website via the Wayback Machine.

Consists of websites (news, blogs, social media) documenting the revolution in Tunisia in 2011.

Photograph collection from Al Jazeera.