Library Guides: The Arab Spring: Find News Sources

Contemporary News Databases

The following databases have 21st-century English-language news coverage of the Arab world. Note that some (Access World News, Nexis Uni, ABI/INFORM Global) include news sources from around the globe while others (New York Times, American Archive of Public Broadcasting) will represent the slant of the U.S.

Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of more than 16,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. This one-stop database allows you to search all Newsbank current and historical news sources that Tulane subscribes to, including Access World News, America's Historical Newspapers, World Newspaper Archive, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, and the Times-Picayune collection. Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, economics, education, health, journalism, marketing, politics, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
New York Times (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers - Recent) This link opens in a new window
Coverage is 2008 to 30 days before the present date. For the most current online issues of The New York Times Online and a login for the app, visit the following link to create an easy access, online Academic Pass: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/NYTimes
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
AP Archive This link opens in a new window
The photo and video archive of The Associated Press. Video content includes attached transcripts and annotations.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen.

Google News
Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from tens of thousands of sources all over the world, in more than 30 languages. Some content is free, some behind a paywall. Allows you to search by region, topic, and keywords.

Online News Sites

Al Jazeera
An independent news organization funded in part by the Qatari government, Al Jazeera is a major news source of reference for the Middle East, North Africa, and the globe. Articles from the 2010's are still discoverable through the search box on their website.