Library Guides: Abolition: A World without Prisons &amp; Police: Libraries & Archives

Intro

Keep scrolling for information on archival and special collections related to abolition and the prison industrial complex at Tulane and beyond.

Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC)

In 2019, Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC) featured an exhibition titled, Captive Voices: Hearing, Seeing and Imagining Angola Prison.

In response to the Tulane University Reading Project and One Book New Orleans’ 2019 selection, Vengeance, by Tulane Professor of English Zachary Lazar, this exhibition used materials from Tulane University Special Collections and Lazar’s personal archives to reveal often hidden aspects of the Louisiana State Penitentiary.

Among the TUSC materials featured were:

Issues of prison periodicals from the Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola
Records of the Louisiana ACLU
Curtis and Davis Project Photographs from the Southeastern Architectural Archive
Ephemera from the Louisiana Research Collection
Angola Talking oral histories from the Hogan Archive Oral History Collection

Newcomb Archives & Vorhoff Collection

The Newcomb Archives include zines and other materials relating to the intersections of women, feminism, and the prison industrial complex.

Library Collectives & Projects

Abolitionist Library Association
Abolitionist Library Association is a collective of library workers, students, and community members taking action to divest from all forms of policing in libraries and invest in our collective liberation.
Library Freedom Project
Library Freedom Project is radically rethinking the library professional organization by creating a network of values-driven librarian-activists taking action together to build information democracy.
Prison Library Support Network
The Prison Library Support Network is an information-based collective founded in 2016 to support incarcerated people by organizing networks for sharing resources and building capacity for the movement for prison abolition in libraries, archives, and other knowledge-based institutions.