The Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) regularly collects nationally representative data about the American public’s knowledge of, attitudes toward, and use of cancer- and health-related information.

he Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program provides information on cancer statistics in an effort to reduce the cancer burden among the U.S. population.

The NSCH addresses aspects of children’s health and well-being as well as those of the family and the neighborhood that can affect it, on national and state levels. The surveys are supported and developed by MCHB and conducted by NCHS.

This Web site has been produced as an online version of the chartbook, The Health and Well-Being of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation 2011-2012

The mission of the Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC) is to advance the effective use of public data on the status of children’s health and health-related services for children, youth and families in the United States.

The DRC website includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN).

View the survey instruments and data sets

This public health portal has categorized data tools and statistics into these subcategories: Health Statistics, National Public Health Data Sets, State and Local Public Health Data Sets, Public Health Infrastructure Data, Search for Other Tools, and Tools for Data Collection and Planning.

Directory of research datasets and instruments used in health services research and public health. Entries have URLs for more information, and most have pre-formulated PubMed/MEDLINE searches.

Hazardous Substances Data Bank has chemical data valuable for environmental health concerns.

TOXNET HAS MOVED
Most content will continue to be collected and reviewed; selected information is accessible through PubChem, PubMed, and Bookshelf.

BRFSS is the world’s largest telephone survey; it tracks health risks of adults in the United States. A federal and state partnership allows data collection at the national, state, and local levels.

The NHCS is a collection of health care provider surveys, obtaining information about the facilities that supply health care, the services rendered, and the characteristics of the patients served.

NHIS is a continuing nationwide survey of the U.S. civilian noninstitutionalized population conducted in households. Each week a probability sample of households is interviewed by trained personnel of the U.S. Bureau of the Census to obtain information about the health and other characteristics of each living member of the sample household.

NHANES is a survey that collects information about the health and diet of people in the United States. It is unique in that it combines a home interview with health tests that are done in a mobile examination center.

A large on-going survey of immunization coverage among U.S. preschool children (19 - 35 months old).

State health departments report notifiable infectious diseases to CDC.

Compiles information from states on vital events - births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.

The YRBSS includes national, state, and local school-based surveys of representative samples of 9th through 12th grade students. These surveys are conducted every two years, usually during the spring semester. The national survey, conducted by CDC, provides data representative of high school students in public and private schools in the United States. The state and local surveys, conducted by departments of health and education, provide data representative of the state or local school district.

Each surveillance system described plays a role in detecting and preventing foodborne disease and outbreaks.

Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization . HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of state data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the federal government to create a national information resource of discharge-level health care data. HCUP includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, discharge-level information beginning in 1988.

MEPS is a survey of the civilian population living in U.S. communities. MEPS produces nationally representative statistics on health care expenses, including the type of medical services used, how frequently they are used, the cost of services, and how they are paid for, as well as health conditions and health insurance availability and coverage. MEPS also collects extensive information on employer-based health insurance plans.

This is the primary source of information on the prevalence, patterns, and consequences of alcohol, tobacco, and illegal drug use and abuse in the general U.S. civilian non-institutionalized population, aged 12 and older.

The Drug Abuse Warning Network (DAWN) is a public health surveillance system that monitors drug-related hospital emergency department visits in order to report on the impact of drug use, misuse, and abuse in metropolitan areas and across the nation.

Includes substance abuse treatment facilities data.

SAMHSA has the following five data collections: Emergency Department Data, Substance Abuse Facilities Data, Mental Health Facilities Data, Client Level Data, Population Data, State and Metro reports, quality metrics, behavioral health outcomes, data resources and evaluation. From U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

This site provides access to CMS computer data and systems; research studies and reports; statistics, series, and trends; and files for order.

A continuous, multipurpose survey of a nationally representative sample of aged, disabled, and institutionalized Medicare beneficiaries. MCBS produces two files annually, Access to Care and Cost and Use.

he specific goals of the Forum are to improve both the quality and use of data on the aging population by:

widening access to information on the aging population through periodic publications and other means;
promoting communication among data producers, researchers, and public policymakers;
coordinating the development and use of statistical databases among federal agencies;
identifying information gaps and data inconsistencies;
investigating questions of data quality;
encouraging cross-national research and data collection on the aging population; and
addressing concerns regarding collection, access, and dissemination of data.