Library Guides: Data and Statistical Portal: U.S. Health Data Sets

Health Status Indicators

The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps (CHR&R ) program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. A collaboration of CHR&R with Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) in now in one central location (August 31, 2017).

County Health Rankings and Roadmaps (CHR&R) A collaboration of CHR&R with Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) in one central location. Measures vital health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
more...less...
Effective August 31, 2017, Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) will no longer be supported, but CHR&R will now allow nationwide comparison of counties with similar populations based on key demographic, social, and economic indicators. This important collaboration allows CHR&R to deliver popular functionality of both CHSI and CHR&R products in one central location.
Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW)
Clearinghouse of health indicators data by topic. Free download. Developed by the National Center for Health Statistics

Health Insurance

The Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP). The CPS ASEC collects health insurance data on an annual basis at the national and state level geographies. The ACS collects data on an annual basis for the nation, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, every congressional district and all counties, places and metropolitan areas with populations of 65,000 or more. The SIPP collects longitudinal health insurance data at the national level of geography.

Search in the American Community Survey, providing your topic in the search box.

Census.gov - Health Insurance he Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
Health Insurance Coverage: American.Fact Finder: U.S. Census
Use the Advanced Search feature to narrow search by topic and state
Health Insurance Statistics: CDC
Health Insurance Coverage: CDC Fast Facts
Notice the More Data feature
National Health Interview Survey: Health Insurance Coverage
Report
Health Insurance Coverage in the United States 2013
Report: issued September 2014
Lack of Health Insurance: United States
American's Health Rankings/United Health Foundation

U.S. data and statistics

Start here: primary sources for data and statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Principal health statistics agency of the Centers of Disease Control (CDC).
Finding and using health statistics
This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search
Health Statistics
In this course you will develop a general understanding of the types of statistics and data sets that are available on the Internet, and be able to identify selected web sites with data sources and statistics for use at the national, state, and local public health levels.
Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW)
Clearinghouse of health indicators data by topic. Free download. Developed by the National Center for Health Statistics

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.

More options organized alphabetically below.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest, on-going telephone health survey system. Compare prevalence of variables across states or years. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
CDC - Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER)
Menu-driven data system from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Includes AIDS, birth rates, cancer , mortality, population and environment statistics.
Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)
A digital collection of public use datasets for occupational and environmental health studies of workers at DOE facilities and nearby community residents. Create account to download data. From the US Department of Energy (DOE).
Current Population Survey (CPS) Data: National Bureau of Economic Research
Extensive collection of historical population surveys from US Census. All of the data is available for download.
CDC - FastStats
Statistics on topics of public health importance, organized alphabetically. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
CDC - Injury Prevention & Control: Data & Statistics (WISQARS)
CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
KIDS COUNT Data Center
Data on child and family well-being in the United States. From the Annie E. Casey Foundation
Minnesota Population Center - Data Projects
Demographic data resources. All MPC data are available free over the internet. Includes international and domestic population surveys, tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files, 1790 - present; annual data on people in the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, 1960s - present; American Time Use Survey, 2003-present; Demographic and Health Surveys, 1980s-present; integrated data on population and the environment, 1960- present.
NHANES - National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
Nutrition datasets from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
National Surveys on Drug Use and Health, reports, download datasets
US Census Bureau: Data Tools and Apps
Find information using interactive applications to get statistics from multiple surveys. Download Census 2000 datasets, 2010 Census Interactive Population Map
IHME - US County Profiles
Life expectancy, smoking prevalence, obesity rates by county and parish. From the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Vital Statistics Birth Data: National Bureau of Economic Research
Collection of vital statistics birth microdata available for download. Data come in a number of different formats; however, in each case, the birth microdata file contains birth certificate data from a given calendar year. Linked Birth/Infant Death data were not collected 1992-1994. However, infant cause of death is included in the Multiple Cause-of-Death Data.
2015 State Baby Facts
Zero to Three, the National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, presents the 2015 factsheets for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia. These provide information for early childhood professionals and policymakers about the status of infants, toddlers, and families in their state. The State Baby Facts present data in the framework of good health, strong families, and positive early learning experiences. To learn more about how to use State Baby Facts in your advocacy efforts, download the toolkit