AI and Writing by
AI and Writingis an introduction to Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) and its emergent role as a tool for academic, professional, civic, and personal writing. Sid Dobrin examines GenAI from two perspectives: the conceptual and the applied. The conceptual approach addresses the function of GenAI and the ramifications of its use as a writing tool - especially the ethical, social, and material issues it raises. The applied approach offers guidance to assist readers in using GenAI responsibly and authentically. In consideration of the rapid evolution of GenAI and the many unsettled questions about its role, Dobrin leaves room for readers to adapt to shifting technological and institutional conventions. This book is intended for composition and writing-intensive courses, and for any readers with a general or professional interest in the role of GenAI in writing. While it is primarily designed for first-year writing courses, it's also applicable to courses in advanced writing, professional writing, technical writing, business writing, and writing across the curriculum, as well as writing-intensive courses in other disciplines. In other words, it can be used in any course in which students are required to produce texts.
AI Needs You by
A humanist manifesto for the age of AI Artificial intelligence may be the most transformative technology of our time. As AI's power grows, so does the need to figure out what--and who--this technology is really for. AI Needs You argues that it is critical for society to take the lead in answering this urgent question and ensuring that AI fulfills its promise. Verity Harding draws inspiring lessons from the histories of three twentieth-century tech revolutions--the space race, in vitro fertilization, and the internet--to empower each of us to join the conversation about AI and its possible futures. Sharing her perspective as a leading insider in technology and politics, she rejects the dominant narrative, which often likens AI's advent to that of the atomic bomb. History points the way to an achievable future in which democratically determined values guide AI to be peaceful in its intent; to embrace limitations; to serve purpose, not profit; and to be firmly rooted in societal trust. AI Needs You gives us hope that we, the people, can imbue AI with a deep intentionality that reflects our best values, ideals, and interests, and that serves the public good. AI will permeate our lives in unforeseeable ways, but it is clear that the shape of AI's future--and of our own--cannot be left only to those building it. It is up to us to guide this technology away from our worst fears and toward a future that we can trust and believe in.
Applications of Generative AI by
This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Generative AI in terms of basic concepts, core technologies, technical architecture, and application scenarios. Readers gain a deeper understanding of the emerging discipline of Generative AI. This book covers the latest cutting-edge application technologies of Generative AI in various fields. It provides relevant practitioners with ideas to solve problems and deepen their understanding of Generative AI. At the same time, it guides and helps Generative AI and related industries to deepen their understanding of the industry and enhance professional knowledge and skills. Starting from reality, this book lists many cases and analyzes theories in a popular image. The book is useful for AI researchers and specifically for those working with the applications at hand (primarily medical imaging and construction/twinning industry). It covers a variety of cutting-edge technologies in Generative AI, which provides researchers with new research ideas.
Handbook of Critical Studies of Artificial Intelligence
The Oxford Handbook of Ethics of AI
This interdisciplinary and international handbook captures and shapes much needed reflection on normative frameworks for the production, application, and use of artificial intelligence in all spheres of individual, commercial, social, and public life.
