Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Latin American News and Newspapers: A Guide

Print and microform newspapers and online newspapers from Latin America.

Historical Newspapers

Use these tabs ↑ to explore different methods for finding historical news sources

Rare Newspapers (18th century-1930s)

Looking for historical print newspapers? LAL has extensive rare newspaper holdings; There are more than 600 titles from 22 countries in LAL's Special Collections. Titles can be identified on the LAL Newspapers Resource page and by accessing the inventory (below).  Rare Newspapers can be consulted within the LAL Reading Room during regular office hours.  

Additional information about this collection:

Geographic Coverage:Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic,El Salvador, England, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras,Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico,Nicaragua,Panama,Peru,Puerto Rico,Spain,USA,Uruguay

Dates: c.18th century-1930s

Find: Explore LAL Newspapers Resource Page.  Download the inventory: LAL Rare Newspapers Holdings (excel);  LAL Rare Newspapers Holdings (pdf)

Housed: LAL's Special Collections

Request: Please bring identifying bibliographic information to any LAL Staff member.  Material can be consulted in the LAL Reading Room during office hours.  

Questions: Don't hesitate to write us at Lal@tulane.edu or call us at (504) 865-5681

Search these full-text databases for Latin American news articles of interest:

These digital newspaper libraries feature historical newspapers from the Caribbean, Spain and Mexico:

Identify different newspapers published in Latin America by using:

Find digitized newspapers:

Newspaper Digitization Initiatives -This International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) database highlights and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of newspapers. Scroll down on the page to see newspaper digitization initiatives organized by country.  

Both contemporary and historical newspapers can be found on microfilm at Howard-Tilton Memorial Library.  Access our microfilm inventory on the LAL Microfilm Resource Page  

Additionally, microfilmed newspapers held elsewhere can sometimes be requested via Interlibrary Loan.  Two key places to look:

  • Tulane University is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries.  Search their holdings in the CRL Online CatalogYou can request their newspaper holdings - print & microfilm, historical & current - via Interlibrary Loan.

  •  LASER Union List of Microforms - The Latin American Library is a member of Latin America Southeast Region (LASER), a consortium of major Latin American research collections in the Southeastern United States.  For updated holdings of each collection, consult the catalogs and web sites of LASER member libraries.
Loading