Library Guides: Architecture Library Guide: Start here.

This guide is designed to support architecture scholarship by undergraduates and faculty alike, specifically in the Tulane School of Architecture. Use it to identify article databases, library resources, links, and tips in finding, accessing, and managing quality information sources. Questions? I invite you to contact me or even set up an appointment for additional research help.

New Resources

Louisiana Fire Insurance Maps Online This link opens in a new window Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo), is Historical Information Gatherers' research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps for Louisiana showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information.
OnArchitecture This link opens in a new window OnArchitecture is an audiovisual archive of architecture online, founded in 2012 by Chilean architects Felipe De Ferrari and Diego Grass along with psychologist Claudio Mesa. It offers a deep and detailed panorama of the world’s main authors, works, experiences and issues related to the field of architecture.
Pidgeon Digital This link opens in a new window The online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual. It is a collection of talks by contemporary architects and related designers. The collection was founded in 1979 by Monica Pidgeon (long-time editor of the influential magazine Architectural Design) and lectures are continually added.

Popular Resources

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text and indexing for art journals, magazines and books. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Also includes over 63,000 images.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Also contains references to obituary citations.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window The Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) provides textual and image access to art and architectural history scholarship. Search a growing list of recent monographs by text and image, create a personal bookshelf, access faculty-created course-packs, download chapters, take notes, and cite your sources.
El Croquis Digital Library This link opens in a new window El Croquis Digital Library, grants access to El Croquis Archive from the year 2001, issue 104 onwards. NOTE: The publisher’s mobile access for this resource is only allowed with user name and password and there are a limited number of five simultaneous users available.

El Croquis (Print) Major architectural magazine. Each number showcases leading international architects and/or firms. Available in digital and print format (holdings vary by format).
- This link opens in a new window

DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window DETAIL inspiration uses precise, relevant visual inspirations to support architects in their search for construction solutions. With around 3,000 projects from the past 30 years, DETAIL inspiration is a valuable source of research and inspiration for architects.