Library Guides: Online Tutorials for Health Science Library Resources: A Guide: OVID

OVID

OvidSP - Expert Searches

Create a personal account in OvidSP to utilize expert searches developed by the Matas Library.

Go to "My Account" in the top right hand corner of the OvidSP webpage:
Create a new Personal Account with Personal Account Name you choose.

•Please note that Personal Account names and passwords are case-sensitive.

Ovid EBM Filters

Choose to filter your ovid search by Diagnosis, Etiology, Meta-analysis, Prognosis or Therapy

More about Ovid Expert Searches

MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. 1946-present.

About Ovid

OvidSP provides a different search interface for MEDLINE. It is the same basic data as PubMed, although there may be some newer items in PubMed. OvidSP also provides several full text journals, e-books and the health science databases Global Health and Ovid HealthStar.

Ovid Databases

HealthStar This link opens in a new window
Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research (the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery). 1966- present
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full text books, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected textbook sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology