Library Guides: Religious Studies Library Guide: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries on Religious Studies

These religious studies encyclopedias and dictionaries are located online.

Encyclopedia of Religion
A comprehensive compilation of cross-cultural studies of religions in their social and cultural contexts, written by an international group of experts. Arranged alphabetically.
more...less...
E-book version of a 15-volume printed encyclopedia published by Macmillan Reference, 2nd edition 2005.
Oxford Reference Online: Religion and Philosophy
Collection of online versions of standard Oxford reference works relating to religion and philosophy.
more...less...
Titles include: Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions; Dictionary of Buddhism; Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church; Dictionary of the Bible; Oxford Companion to the Bible; Oxford Dictionary of Popes; Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation; Oxford Dictionary of Saints; Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible; Oxford Dictionary of Islam; Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
A resource for information on current religious practices worldwide, particularly on the role of religions and religious traditions in daily lives and cultures. Includes sections organized by religion and by country.
more...less...
E-book version of a 3-volume printed encyclopedia published by Thomson Gale, c2006. Thomas Riggs, editor.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
"Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists." Includes essay and directory sections.
more...less...
E-book version of the 7th edition of a printed encyclopedia published by Gale, c2003. Edited by J. Gordon Melton. (Quotation in description is from Gale Virtual Reference Library description.)
Contemporary American Religion
Covers a range of religions currently observed in the US, including social, legal, and cultural aspects of religious beliefs and practices. Articles examine individual religions and specific beliefs as well as themes relevant to multiple religions.
more...less...
E-book version of a 2-volume printed encyclopedia published by Macmillan Reference USA, c2000. Wade Clark Roof, editor in chief.
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
A multidisciplinary resource covering religion, religious experience, and spirituality in the broadest senses and in a global context. Alphabetically arranged articles, with an index for additional access and lists of further resources.
more...less...
E-book version of a printed encyclopedia published by Sage Reference, 2006. Elizabeth Dowling and W. Scarlett, editors.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Covers the basic teachings, practices, and history of Buddhism, including its varying schools, sects, and forms around the world, as well as Buddhist art and architecture. Alphabetically arranged articles, with index and bibliographies.
more...less...
E-book version of a 2-volume printed encyclopedia publsihed by Macmillan Reference USA, c2004. Robert E. Buswell, Jr., editor in chief.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Part of Oxford Reference- this contains comprehensive resources for the study of the Bible and biblical history. It includes Biblical texts, authoritative reference works, and tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online and Oxford Islamic Studies Online have retired. Content from Oxford Biblical Studies Online or Oxford Islamic Studies Online has now moved to Oxford Reference, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, or Oxford's What Everyone Needs to Know.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative reference work on all aspects of Catholicism, including discussions of relationships between the Catholic Church and other Christian denominations and religions. Articles include bibliographies.
more...less...
Based on the 2nd edition (2003); online version can be searched by keyword.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Includes thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, maps, and other illustrations.
more...less...
E-book version of the 2-volume printed set published by Macmillan Reference, 2004. Richard C. Martin, editor in chief.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedic dictionary of Qurʾānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within Qurʾānic studies.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and contemporary roles of women in countries with significant Muslim populations -- religious, social, political, scientific, artistic, etc. Addresses both Muslim and non-Muslim women in relation to Islamic cultures.
Encyclopaedia of Judaism Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of Judaism: "the religion, its diverse history, literature, beliefs past and present, observances, practices and world-view, and place in the context of society and culture." (Preface)

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries that include Religious Studies

These encyclopedias and dictionaries, located online, include reference resources on religious studies.

Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Online version of the English translation of the standard German classical studies encyclopedia: Der neue Pauly : Enzyklopädie der Antike. Available: Antiquity, volumes 1-14 (A–Tub); Classical tradition, v. 1-4. Antiquity volumes edited by: Hubert Cancik and Helmuth Schneider, Managing Editor English Edition: Christine F. Salazar, Classical Tradition volumes edited by: Manfred Landfester, Managing Editor English Edition: Francis G. Gentry

Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon
Aramaic dictionary project prepared by an international team of scholars, headquartered at Hebrew Union College. Includes lexical databases, bibliographies, and images of some primary texts.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
A six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south.
more...less...
Presents more than 2,600 alphabetically arranged entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.

E-book version of the 6-volume printed set published by Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002. David Levinson, Karen Christensen, editors.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
more...less...
E-book version of a 10-volume printed encyclopedia published by G.K. Hall & Co., c1991-1996. David Levinson, editor in chief. See the supplement also, updated in 2002.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures, Supplement
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
more...less...
Updated in 2002; also see the main Encyclopedia of World Cultures, updated in 1996.
Grove Dictionary of Art Online
Articles, definitions of art-related terms, Biographies of artists, patrons, collectors, and others known in the various fields of art, images of works of art, and links and bibliographies to further information.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Alphabetically arranged articles on a wide range of themes in the history of Western thought and culture.
more...less...
E-book version of a 6-volume encyclopedia published by Charles Scribner's Sons, c2005. Edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference works, mainly dictionaries, covering all the disciplines. Also includes quotation sources, who's who references, handbooks, and guides.

Reference Guide to Holocaust Literature
Articles on literary works, memoirs, diaries, and other works written 1933-2001 about the Nazi Holocaust. Many of the works discussed were written by Jewish Holocaust victims and survivors.
more...less...
E-book version of the printed reference source published by St. James Press, 2002. Thomas Riggs, editor.

When to use

Use reference tools (like encyclopedias and dictionaries) to get background information about your research topic. In addition to electronic resources, the library collects print reference sources.

DICTIONARIES & THESAURI: Find definitions, translations, and equivalent terms to help you understand the vocabulary of your topic.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS: May be interdisciplinary or subject specific. Short articles provide summaries about your topic. Articles often discuss key authors in the field, and provide lists of citations to important books and journal articles.