Library Guides: Philosophy Library Guide: Books

Books Matter

In comparison to articles, books offer more thorough coverage of a topic, draw on a wider range of preexisting scholarship, and often excel in placing an argument in broader thematic and disciplinary context. Consider consulting scholarly books first in your own research. Use them to provide:

helpful introduction and overview of a topic;
comprehensive literature review that outlines the major scholars and existing points of view on a topic;
detailed study of a topic, usually broken down into manageable chapters;
extensive bibliography to guide you toward related works.

Find Books

Library Search at Tulane This link opens in a new window
One-stop discovery of books/eBooks, articles, digital media, and more at Tulane University Libraries.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.
Scan & Deliver
A service offering scanning journal articles or a book chapter or less from the library’s circulating print collections and delivering electronically to the faculty’s or student's interlibrary loan account within two business days.

Philosophy eBook Collections

Oxford Academic: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Philosophy is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers. The resource provides access to the full-text of thousands of academic works in 20 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine and law. Tulane's subscription to the Philosophy collection encompasses over 1,100 titles. NOTE: We do not subscribe to ALL CONTENT.

Once in OSO, you can search by topic or browse using the facets on the left-side to narrow down to the following categories:

Aesthetics
Ancient Philosophy
Feminist Philosophy
General
History of Philosophy
Logic / Philosophy of Mathematics
Metaphysics / Epistemology
Moral Philosophy
Philosophy of Language
Philosophy of Mind
Philosophy of Religion
Philosophy of Science
Political Philosophy

Project Muse (Research Area: Philosophy)
A growing selection of eBooks and online journals. Not all content is accessible to Tulane patrons.
Open Access Philosophy Books (Springer)