Library Guides: Philosophy Library Guide: Background

Reference Works

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Full text, open access version of the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: B 51 .R68 1998 and online
ISBN: 0415073103
Publication Date: 1998

Includes the Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture: collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
This database offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

Cambridge Histories Online

Full text of all Cambridge history volumes (300+) published to date. Each volume includes authoritative narrative accounts by specialists and extensive bibliographies.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to texts of the Cambridge Histories series, with access to up to date and authoritative scholarly content.

Tulane subscribes to these field related to Philosophy: Classics, Renaissance and Reformation.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
An expert-curated guide to the most important and significant sources in several topics with editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. Tulane subscribes to: American Literature, Architecture Planning & Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance & Reformation and Urban Studies

Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contain in-depth, high-level books and articles by scholars at the top of their field.