Library Guides: Selecting Journals for Publication: Tools

Where experts are publishing

Web of Science Core
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
Scopus
Comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.
InCites
Customized, web-based research evaluation tool that can help you develop your research strategy. InCites allows you to analyze institutional productivity, monitor collaboration activity, identify influential researchers, showcase strengths, and discover areas of opportunity. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database

JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator)
Allows researchers to enter the title and/or abstract of their paper to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
Elsevier Journal Finder
Enter title and abstract of your paper to easily find journals that could be best suited for publishing. JournalFinder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your paper to scientific journals.
Endnote Manuscript Matcher
journal matching feature suggests the top candidates for your manuscript. Just choose the publications you want, and start the process for submitting your work to the most credible, high-quality journals that match your topic and references.
Taylor & Francis Journal Suggester
Helping you find the best home for your research article
Wiley Journal Suggester
Not sure where to submit? Enter your title and abstract below to search for Wiley journals that match your manuscript.

Journal Citation Reports
Best Bet!!. Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN.

CiteScore metrics from Scopus
Comprehensive, current and free metrics for serial titles in Scopus.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database
Google Scholar Journal Metrics
Provides the h5-index h5-median of publications in different areas of research.
CWTS Journal Indicators
CWTS Journal Indicators provides free access to bibliometric indicators on scientific journals. The indicators have been calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) based on the Scopus database

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory
Detailed, comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world. (Formerly Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)
WorldCat
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

COPE - Committee on Publication Ethics
"COPE provides advice to editors and publishers on all aspects of publication ethics and, in particular, how to handle cases of research and publication misconduct"

Web of Science Core
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association
A a trade association that was established to represent the interests of Open Access (OA) publishers globally in all scientific, technical and scholarly disciplines.
Sherpa/Romeo
Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.
NLM Catalog
Confirm if Journal is indexed in PubMed or MedLine
ISSN Portal
ISSN look-up