Library Guides: International Development Library Guide: News Databases

Intro

Tulane Libraries subscribe to a wide variety of news databases and publications. Explore key resources and recommendations below.

For more extensive and specialized news resources, see:

Contemporary News Databases

Best Bets:

Access World News - Current
More than 12,000 U.S. and global news sources in dozens of languages. Coverage spans the late 20th century to the present day, with news updated daily.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Includes the New York Times (1851-present), Washington Post (1877-present), Latin American Newsstream, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream, Historical Black Newspapers, Historical Jewish American newspapers, and more.

Tulane provides access to:
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
- The American Israelite (1854-1874)
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1993)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present)
- Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022)
- The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
- The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
- The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
- Latin American Newsstream
- Le Monde (1944-2000)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-present)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2012)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
- The Washington Post (1877-current)
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
ABI/INFORM Global
Browsable full text Wall Street Journal from 1984 to the current day as well as many other business periodicals.
See ProQuest Digital Microfilm for digitized microfilm from 2008 to about three months from the present of Wall Street Journal.

Additional Resources:

New York Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The New York Times from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date. For the most current online issues of The New York Times Online and a login for the app, visit the following link to create an easy access, online Academic Pass: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/NYTimes
Washington Post (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date. To access washingntonpost.com and create a personal account via Tulane's subscription, see instructions here: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/washingtonpost.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
AP Newsroom
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
Business and political intelligence for more than 200 countries. Reports and Services include: Country Reports, Country Forecast, Global Outlook, Commodities, Industry Briefing, CountryData and Market Indicators & Forecasts.
Factiva
Pulls together full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, business news, company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. NOTE: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Latin American Newsstream
ProQuest Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Use the "Publications" tab to see which newspapers and coverage the database includes.

Pravda (Правда) (2010- )
Contains full text of Russian language edition of Pravda from January 2010 - current.

Historical News Databases

Access World News - Historical and Current
A vast collection of more than 16,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. This one-stop database allows you to search all Newsbank current and historical news sources that Tulane subscribes to, including Access World News, America's Historical Newspapers, World Newspaper Archive, Black Life in America, Hispanic Life in America, and the Times-Picayune collection. Find diverse global perspectives on topics related to business, communications, economics, education, health, journalism, marketing, politics, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Washington Post (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
Economist: Historical Archive (1843-2010)
Access the historical archive (1843-2010) of The Economist, the English-language weekly news magazine.
AP Newsroom
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.
Pravda (Правда) Digital Archive
Full text archive of Russian-language edition of Pravda (Правда). 1912-2013.