Full-text books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, including original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and religious history.
A gateway to digitized books, manuscripts, images, musical scores, newspapers, magazines, and sound recordings from the national libraries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Spain, and Uruguay. Allows you to search all the libraries' collections at once and then links you out to that library's webpage.
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries written by women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Taken together, these works outline the ongoing development of black feminism.
High-quality image collections curated by museums, universities, and archives around the world. Covers a wide array of subjects and media, including paintings, architectural drawings and details, photographs, crafts, sculpture, etc. from all regions and time periods. Now searchable directly on JSTOR.
Multimedia collection that covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Digital collection of Latin American travel accounts from the 16th-19th centuries in Brown University's Special Collections. Includes browse-by-country function, essays, and bibliography.
From the everyday to the extraordinary, these rare diaries and the supporting correspondence describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women.
The project has wide ranging interdisciplinary appeal, offering first hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry. Topics covered include: Emigration and daily life, Missionary Work, World War I, World War II, Boxer War in China, Frontier Life in America, Personal Enlightenment through travel, Education and Finishing School, Sightseeing, Holidays and Tourism, Customs, culture and leisure.
