Library Guides: HISL 4910: Monsters in History: Find Scholarly Articles

About

This section highlights some of the best databases for locating scholarly articles for the case study project. No two databases will have the same journal contents and search terms and algorithms, so it's important to test and compare more than one.

Pro tip 1: Can't find full-text access to a known article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

Search the article title in "" in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access.
Search the article title in "" in Google to see if you can locate a PDF. If that fails:
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Pro tip 2: Use a given database's filters to include peer-reviewed journal articles and exclude the kinds of resources you might not want, such as newspaper articles or book reviews.

Best Bets

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Historical Abstracts
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
America: History & Life
Scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present day.
HAPI Online
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
JSTOR Advanced Search
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Academic Search Complete
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.