Finding Government Data Removed by the 2025 Presidential Administration

This is a sub that aims at bringing data hoarders together to share their passion with like minded people.

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus. Efforts include: data gathering, data curation and cleaning, data cataloging, and providing sustained access and distribution of data assets.

This guide tracks substantive changes government websites. After each monthly link review, a list will be created to share out information about changes/errors.

An offloading point and information depot for a number of archiving projects, all related to saving websites or data that is in danger of being lost, including archiving the federal government.

direct links to the Internet Archive's most recent mirrored versions of every public-facing web page on the Centers for Disease Control website prior to content being purged.

The End of Term Web Archive captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. The EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020.

As a Tulane affiliate, you can access PolicyMap by copy and pasting the following link in your browser: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/tulane.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Ftulane.policymap.com

An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.

Census Reporter is an independent project to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use. They are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau.

DataLumos is an ICPSR archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.

The Data Liberation Project is an initiative to identify, obtain, reformat, clean, document, publish, and disseminate government datasets of public interest.

The Climate Change and Health Research Coordinating Center (CAFE) Collection includes datasets from a number of US Federal agencies to enable research at the intersection of climate and human health.

Access historic Census data. Access to this resource is provided by the Tulane University Libraries.

The Public Environmental Data Partners are committed to preserving and providing public access to federal environmental data. We are a volunteer coalition of several environmental, justice, and policy organizations, researchers across several universities, archivists, and students who rely on federal datasets and tools to support critical research, advocacy, policy, and litigation work.

This collection includes BagIt archives of every entry on data.gov, including API metadata for each dataset.

Mirrored and archived public data on locally hosted git server. Includes retrieved data sets from CDC, DoE, NIH, and NOAA.

Tracks the Trump Administration's elimination and suspension of access to U.S. federal government information. From Sacramento State University.

Preserved datasets and guidances include: The Center for Disease Control (CDC); The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Available via Box.

This guide will point to resources that identify and track steps taken by the Trump administration and Congress to scale back or eliminate access to federal government information. It also provides links to groups performing data and website rescue.

Links to trusted repositories that have rescued U.S. government data

This guide provides examples of potential alternative sources for federal data, including public repositories and resources licensed for use by Ohio State affiliates. We will update this guide as additional resources and information become available.

Many sources available to Ohio State affiliates can be found in the Tulane University Libraries catalog as well.