Library Guides: Education Library Guide: Popular Education Databases

What Are Databases?

Databases are storage centers for resources. Library databases provide access to academic journals, newspapers, eBook platforms, image collections, data sets, and digitized primary sources. Tulane Libraries maintain licensed access to more than 900 library databases. Explore some of these databases by visiting the tabs above.

Praxis Test Practice

Create an account on the Learning Express site. Click Jobs & Careers on the left. Choose Teaching to see a list of practice tests available.

PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
Click Career Center, then click Prepare for an Occupation Exam, then scroll down and click Teaching.

Praxis: For Test Takers: Preparation Materials
Free and fee study materials for Praxis exams.

Education Databases

Databases focused on education, educational psychology and teaching practice. Databases inlcude articles and other information resources.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Highly specialized collection of information for professional educators. Offers everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.
ERIC (US Govt.) This link opens in a new window
The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. Access 14,000+ documents and over 20,000+ journal articles per year. Coverage from 1966-present.

Education-related databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
EBSCO'S PrepSTEP™ for Colleges (formerly EBSCO LearningExpress) is an interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. NOTE: Users must create personal accounts in order to save their work in progress, store score reports, and revisit any practice tests, tutorials, or eBooks. Registration only requires a valid email address and a password.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.

These databases contain articles about social sciences in general. You will find education-related articles in them.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Psychology + Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles. This database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry + psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.

These databases have articles that are written at various reading levels.

MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, over 570 popular high school magazines, 420 full-text reference books and an image collection of more than 1.6 million photos, maps, flags and color PDFs.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines and over 100 student pamphlets. All articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.

A-Z Database List

Access the following link for a listing of databases licensed by the University Libraries: A-Z Databases (tulane.edu)

Education Library Guide

Education Links @ TU

Virtual Research Help

Praxis Test Practice

Education Databases

A-Z Database List