Library Guides: Drug Resources: A Guide: Drug Resources

MICROMEDEX (Truven), Martindale, Red Book Online & NEOFAX

ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR TULANE HEALTHCARE-RELATED PROGRAMS ONLY. DOWNTOWN CAMPUS

*Academic Subscription. Includes an online version of Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, NeoFax(Pediatric and Neonatal drugs), and the RED BOOK Online. Search for drug information, including drug comparisons & interactions, IV compatibility, and drug toxicology. Includes calculators and Care Notes for patient information. Neonate Drug Dosing and Parenteral Nutrition calculators is part of MICROMEDEX.

MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.

Litt’s Drug Eruption & Reaction Database

Litt’s Drug Eruption & Reaction Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database on adverse drug reactions.
Users within our institution are also able to register to save their searches on the database, and can use the alerts function to receive notification of significant changes to the adverse reactions data.

Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology Online

Stahl Online
Includes includes the complete contents of Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, 4th edition, the online Prescriber's Guide with coverage of the newest drugs used by psychiatrists in their practice, and new titles: Case Studies, Stahl's Illustrated Substance Abuse, Stahl's Self-Assessment in Psychiatry and Stahl's Illustrated Violence.
Stahl's self-assessment examination in psychiatry : multiple choice questions for clinician, ed.3 (2019,2021)
Part of StahlOnline via Library Catalog

GIDEON - Infectious Diseases and Drug Therapy

GIDEON Guides
Includes GIDEON Guide to Antimicrobial Agents

GIDEON Guide to Antimicrobial Agents by Gideon Informatics, Inc.; Stephen Berger
ISBN: 9781498833981
Publication Date: 2022-02-26
Summarizes the status of generic antimicrobial agents.

Drug Information from NLM & NIH

PubChem
PubChem is a freely available database of structures, properties, and the biological activities of small molecules.
NLM - Drug Information Portal (Starting in December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information.
A gateway to current, accurate and understandable drug information from the National Library of Medicine
more...less...
Starting in December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information. NLM is retiring ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal, two other chemical property information sites, to better focus our development efforts on a single, integrated source of chemical information. All of the data found in ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal is currently available and will continue to be available in PubChem.
DailyMed (NLM)
NLM. Point of Care & EHR. Contains drug listings as submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). RxNorm release, available as of April 3, 2017, includes Prescribable Names (PSN).
LiverTox (NIH)
Information about drug-induced liver injury caused by prescription and nonprescription drugs, herbals, and dietary supplements. From the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) and National Library of Medicine.
Medlineplus - Drug Information
U.S. National Library of Medicine - Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications provided by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) in the USP DI Advice for the Patient. Includes Supplements and Herbal Information

Regulatory Sources

FDA Drugs - Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
Drug approvals, drug safety, drug development & approval process, guidance, compliance & regulatory information, shortages, recalls, approvals.
Drugs@FDA
Database of FDA approved drug products. Search by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Application Number.
Development & Approval Process (Drugs)
How Drugs are Developed and Approved
FDA
CDERLearn
Educational tutorials offered by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER).
FDA Recalls, Market Withdrawals, & Safety Alerts