Library Guides: Drug Resources: A Guide: Adverse Effects, Toxicology, Poisoning

Micromedex: Search Drug, Disease, Toxicology, and more

ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR TULANE HEALTHCARE-RELATED PROGRAMS ONLY. DOWNTOWN CAMPUS

*Academic Subscription. Includes an online version of Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference, NeoFax (Pediatric and Neonatal drugs), and the RED BOOK Online. Search for drug information, including drug comparisons & interactions, IV compatibility, and drug toxicology. Includes calculators and Care Notes for patient information.

MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.

TOXNET

TOXNET (NLM Link Resource) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
TOXNET and most of NLM's toxicology information services, as part of the broader NLM reorganization, have been integrated into other NLM products and services. The TOXNET page is currently home to links for NLM's toxicology information in those NLM services.

ToxLearn Series of toxicology tutorials
ToxTutor ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology and was adopted from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) chemical and toxicology databases. While a knowledge of anatomy and physiology is not required for viewing ToxTutor, the Introduction to the Human Body from the National Cancer Institute provides a good introduction to the topic.

Meyler's Side Effects

Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs, 16e by Jeffrey K. Aronson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780444537171
Publication Date: 2016
ClinicalKey

Microbiology, Drugs and Antibiotic Resistance

Antibiotics and Antibiotic Resistance by Ola Sköld
ISBN: 9781118075609
Publication Date: 2011-11-03
Books@Ovid (OpenAthens)
Antimicrobial Agents: Antibacterials and Antifungals (2nd Ed.) by Andre, M.D. Bryskier
Call Number: QV 350 An6306 2005a
ISBN: 9781555812379
ebrary
available, Matas (Books Stacks)
Antisepsis, Disinfection, and Sterilization : Types, Action, and Resistance by McDonnell, Gerald E.
Call Number: WA 240 M478a 2007
ISBN: 1555813925
ebrary
available, Matas (Books Stacks)
Bacterial Pathogenomics by Mark J. Pallen (Editor); Karen E. Nelson (Editor); Gail M. Preston (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555814519
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Ebrary
Manual of Environmental Microbiology, 3rd ed. by Christon J. Hurst
Call Number: QW 55 M294.3 2007
ISBN: 9781555813796
ebrary
available, Matas (Books Stacks)

Immediately Dangerous To Life or Health Concentrations (IDLHs)

Current Intelligence Bulletin 66: Derivation of Immediately Dangerous to Life or Health (IDLH) Values
DHHS (NIOSH) Publication Number 2014-100
Documentation for Immediately Dangerous To Life or Health Concentrations (IDLHs)
NIOSH

Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar

ACS Journals Search This link opens in a new window
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Access to SciFinder requires a username and password. The link will take you to an information page with instructions for creating an individual account and who to contact for assistance.
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.

SciFinder Help & Tutorials

EMERGENCY TOXICITY SEARCHING - MICROMEDEX + RightAnswer (RightAnswer.com, Inc.)

MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.

Chemical Databases and Material Safety Data Sheets. (HAZARDTEXT & MEDITEXT) + ChemKnowledge® -- RegsKnowledge™ products.) You will be required to register/sign-in using your Tulane academic email address. Your Tulane email address will be your log-in.

RightAnswer.com, Inc (Academic Access)
Tulane users will need to register. Tulane network access is required. This product was called: Corporate Solutions. Academic use for teaching and students only.

RightAnswer® Knowledge Solutions Registration
Register using your tulane email address - username@tulane.edu

Chemicals @ NCBI

PubChem
NCBI product - a freely available database of structures, properties, and the biological activities of small molecules.
more...less...
December 2022, PubChem will serve as NLM's single source for chemical information
Web Resources for Chemistry Professionals (PDF flyer)
National Library of Medicine