Library Guides: HISL 2820: Modern Brazil (Professor Felipe Cruz): 2. Find Scholarly Articles

Instructions

One of the keys to doing in-depth research and putting together as complete a bibliography as possible is to test out a variety of databases. Remember that each database searches different selections of journals, uses different algorithms, and has different interfaces, so you will never get the same two results.

Part A. Search a General Article Database

Have each group member pick ONE of the databases in the "General" section below to search for articles related to your topic
Look at your neighbor's computer screen to compare interfaces and results. What differences, advantages, and drawbacks do you see among databases? How do your results vary?
Pick the article that looks most interesting or promising for your topic and add it to the Zotero group folder

Part B. Search Specialized Databases

Repeat steps 1-3 from Part A, this time testing out databases in the "Latin American Studies" and "History" sections

General Databases

JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Taylor & Francis Online
Search and explore quality, peer-reviewed journal articles published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers.

Latin American Studies Databases

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Web This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources. The homepage for HLAS Web includes a link to HLAS Online, a database that includes records from 1935 to the present.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia (ORE) of Latin American History offer synopses of key historical topics and themes spanning Latin America and the Caribbean. Each encyclopedia article includes overview information, a discussion of the scholarly literature, a list of key primary sources, links to digital resources, and suggestions for further reading.

History Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present day.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.