Library Guides: SOCI-2650: Latin America & the Environment: Peer-Reviewed Articles

Specialized Databases

Try searching articles in these specialized databases first, because:

they will give you results from the most important journals in Latin American Studies and Sociology
you won't have to sift through as many irrelevant articles as general databases

Make sure to:

Limit your search to "Peer-Reviewed Journals" (ask if you need help)
Use the language refining buttons to limit to articles in the language/s you read
Prioritize:
- relevance to your topic
- most recent publications--these will give you a bibliography of prior articles published on the same topic

HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.

If you don't find results in HAPI or SocINDEX, try branching out to these general article databases:

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. When off campus, sign-in with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Link and check for holdings accessible via Tulane. See this tutorial for help: How to Link Google Scholar to Your Library Account
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. *Use TU Link for access via our databases.*
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
Dialnet This link opens in a new window
One of the largest portals to academic content in Spanish. Includes journals from Spain & Latin America.