Library Guides: Travel & Tourism at the Latin American Library: Find Articles

About

This section is designed to help you navigate the many databases and search options available for locating scholarly articles.

New to research or need a refresher? Check out these Howard-Tilton Tutorials:

Best Bets: General

Tulane Library Article Search
Select the "Articles +" button on the top of the Advanced Search to search all journals indexed in Tulane's library catalog.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To search libraries worldwide, go to WorldCat advanced search, enter your keywords, and then select "Article" from the "Format" drop-down menu to limit your search to journals.

Google Scholar
Search results often include "Cited by ##" links below the citation, which leads you to other articles available to Google's robots. Full text may not be available via Google, but the library probably has it in a subscription database or print copy for you.

Best Bets: Travel & Tourism Articles

Hospitality and Tourism Complete
Full text of nearly 500 publications covering subjects including culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management and administrative practice, leisure and business travel, market trends, and technology. Domestic and international in range and scope.
Hospitality and Tourism Index
Covers: domestic and international hospitality and tourism.

Annals of Tourism Research
Annals of Tourism Research is a social sciences journal focusing upon the academic perspectives of tourism.
Turismo y Sociedad
Un espacio académico que privilegia el debate, el intercambio de ideas y de posturas frente al turismo como fenómeno complejo aprehendido desde una mirada interdisciplinaria con el propósito de investigar las múltiples aristas que hacen parte de su esencia. En circulación desde 2002.
Cuadernos de turismo
1998-present, Spanish tourism journal with content about Latin America. Not peer-reviewed.
Rosa dos Ventos
Um periódico acadêmico dedicado à reflexão e à discussão sobre o Turismo e a Hospitalidade, e seus temas transversais,com foco na Gestão, na Cultura, no Meio Ambiente, na Educação e na Epistemologia.

These databases and portals based in Latin America, Spain, and Europe will give different results in a wider variety of languages, from a less Anglo-centric perspective.

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).

SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

Biblioteca Virtual de CLACSO
La Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales CLACSO, repositorio digital, ofrece acceso libre a más de 100.000 textos de la red CLACSO y recibe más de un millón de solicitudes por mes en CLACSO y en la colección CLACSO en Redalyc.
Redalyc
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal
Scientific Information System
Dialnet
One of the largest portals to academic content in Spanish. Includes journals from Spain & Latin America.
BibLat (Bibliografía latinoamericana)
Biblat allows you to search journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean by mining two key databases: CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) and PERIODICA (Índice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias).
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

more... less...

DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations
LA Referencia
Red latinoamericana de repositorios de acceso abierto.
Latindex
Sistema Regional de Información en Línea para Revistas Científicas de América Latina, el Caribe, España y Portugal

The below indices allow you to search and locate the titles of journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean & Iberia. Once you identify a title you're interested in, you can search for it in our library catalog.

CARINDEX
CARINDEX is an index to the contents of West Indian journals published in the Caribbean region. It also includes theses, conference papers and collections of working papers.
CONUCO: Índice de Puerto Rico
An index solely dedicated to journals and e-publications created in Puerto Rico or by Puerto Ricans outside the island. Includes academic, popular, and journalistic periodicals.
LANIC: Academic Journals
Directory of online journals relating to Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
LANIC: Magazines
A directory of online magazines from and about Latin America and the Caribbean. *No longer updated as of 2015.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
Provides access to the tables of contents of 975 journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, most published between 1994 and 2009. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Detailed, comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world.