Sources that include authoritative facts and background material, to include: biographies, book reviews, dictionaries, encyclopedias, facts and figures, issue reports, pro/con, and more.
Use biography databases such as Biography in Context to search for biographical articles on a particular person. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need.
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
The Dictionary of Louisiana Biography is a three-volume set of books (volume I & II were published in 1988 and a supplement was published in 1998), which was a collaboration between the Louisiana Historical Association and the Center for Louisiana Studies at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. This webpage includes the contents of those volumes, with a linked alphabetical index. Each biographical entry is listed by Last Name, First Name, and includes a brief synopsis of the person's life with select bibliographical references for further reading.
Covers all judges who have served since 1789 on the U.S. District Courts, the U.S. Courts of Appeals, the Supreme Court, and the former U.S. Circuit Courts.
