Library Guides: MGMT 7170 Healthcare Policy and Reform-Spring 2021: Websites and Portals

Health Care Websites

ACA Resources (Kaiser Family Foundation - KFF.org) Filling the need for trusted information on national health issues… Affordable Care Act Resources
AAMC. Advocacy and Policy Policy priorities to improve the nation's health.
AAMC. Physician Workforce Projections/Shortages Annual physician workforce supply & demand projections for primary & specialty care in the US. Looks at potential future shortages, impact of demographic, health system, policy changes on future workforce. Includes multiple scenarios, updated data each year, section on health care utilization equity.
Commonwealth Fund A private foundation that aims to promote a high performing health care system that achieves better access, improved quality, and greater efficiency, particularly for society's most vulnerable, including low-income people, the uninsured, minority Americans, young children, and elderly adults. The Fund carries out this mandate by supporting independent research on health care issues and making grants to improve health care practice and policy. An international program in health policy is designed to stimulate innovative policies and practices in the United States and other industrialized countries.
CQ Researcher - Browse Reports by Topic: Health This database, CQ Researcher, provides award winning in-depth coverage on issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Families USA Families USA works hard to achieve high-quality, comprehensive, and affordable health care for all Americans. ... While the Affordable Care Act is a huge step forward in making access to health care a reality, Families USA is working hard to ensure that all Americans enroll and that their health coverage is high-quality.
Health in Our Hands (Louisiana Initiative) An Louisiana initiative to build a community that influences improvements and innovations in healthcare. Brings together patients, doctors and researchers to work together to improve healthcare and provides individuals with up-to-date information and resources on issues that affect their health.
LPHI, Aligning action for health (Louisiana Public Health Institute) LPHI is a public health institute that champions health for people, within systems, and throughout communities. The Louisiana Public Health Institute (LPHI) team works to align efforts, develop human capital, enhance systems and deliver high quality initiatives to improve health. for all.
Kaiser Family Foundation Kaiser is a non-profit, private operating foundation. KFF programs involve policy analysis, polling, journalism and communication. Website topis: Disparities Policy, Global Health Policy, Health Costs, Health Reform, HIV/AIDS, Medicaid and Medicare, Private Insurance, Uninsured and Women’s Health Policy.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Bureau associates concentrate on four types of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the economic effects of public policies, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
New York Times - Health Care Reform To access the Academic Pass to NYTimes.com, each user must follow these steps: Go to nytimes.com/passes Create a free NYTimes.com account using your Tulane email (tulane.edu) address. If you already have an NYTimes.com account using your Tulane email address, you may log in with those credentials. You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen Now you can enjoy seamless full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps just by logging into your NYTimes.com account from any location, on or off campus. Download NYTimes.com mobile apps at nytimes.com/mobile
RAND Health Care Reform (Rand Corporation) The debate within the U.S. government about reforming the health care system centers on ways to control rising costs and assure high-quality, affordable care. RAND Health and its health care reform initiative—RAND COMPARE (Comprehensive Assessment of Reform Efforts)—provide objective research and analysis on topics that can inform the health care reform debate, including financing; increasing access, insurance coverage, and quality; decreasing costs; and promoting wellness and prevention.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Focus on improving both the health of everyone in America and their health care—how it's delivered, how it's paid for, and how well it does for patients and their families
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation -- RWJF: Health Systems Health Systems area includes: Health Care Cost and Value, Health Care Quality, Health Coverage, Public and Community Health
Urban Institute Health & Health Policy @ the Urban Institute.

Health Care Websites: U.S. government

HealthCare.gov
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) AHRQ offers robust data sources that may be of interest to researchers, clinicians, purchasers, policymakers, or consumers.
Affordable Care Act. Dept. of Labor (Employee Benefits Security Administration, EBSA) Employee Benefits Security Administration. Affordable Care Act - Information for Workers and Families - 2013
CMS.gov The Center for Medicare & Medicaid Innovation (the Innovation Center) with CMS supports the development and testing of innovative health care payment and service delivery models.
CAHPS Home @ AHRQ - [Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems] CAHPS database, plus CAHPS surveys ask consumers and patients to report on and evaluate their health care experiences. Surveys cover topics important to consumers and focus on those aspects of quality that consumers are best qualified to assess.
Census.gov - Health Insurance he Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), American Community Survey (ACS), and Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
Health Information Privacy (HIPAA) HHS.gov - HIPPA rights and complaints. Office for Civil Rights Headquarters U.S. Department of Health & Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20201 Toll Free Call Center: 1-800-368-1019 TTD Number: 1-800-537-7697
Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) A nonpartisan legislative branch agency that provides the U.S. Congress with analysis and policy advice on the Medicare program.
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services (such as screening, counseling, and preventive medications) and recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems. The USPSTF is an independent panel of non-Federal experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine and is composed of primary care providers (such as internists, pediatricians, family physicians, gynecologists/obstetricians, nurses, and health behavior specialists).
President Biden to Announce Strategy to Address Our National Mental Health Crisis, As Part of Unity Agenda in his First State of the Union MARCH 01, 2022 • STATEMENTS AND RELEASES
Improving Health for All Americans, Obama White House. Archived page from the White House website under President Barack Obama

Marketing Portals

KnowThis: Marketing Tutorials, News, How-To's and More
Created by a marketing professor and business librarian in 1998, ... "KnowThis.com is committed to providing quality information and valuable tools for business professionals, academics and students of marketing and related fields." Provides access to tutorials, terms, lists and links.
Market Research World
Market Research World (MRW) previously Market Research Portal (MRP) offers online resources and research related articles relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research industry.

Health Care websites

Dissemination and Implementation Science
Health Services Research Information Central (National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health)