Company and Industry Information - SLAMM - School of Liberal Arts Management Minor

Company Information

These databases provide company overviews, company histories, and SWOT Analyses.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Includes reference content from Gale's core business collection, company and investment research reports, industry rankings and surveys, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Includes company profile, stock reports, dividends, earnings, and equity reports, with links to the industry.
ValueLine This link opens in a new window
Access company snapshots and ratings, as well as traditional Value Line reports.

Company Information Research Guide
Directory of resources for locating company information.
Industry Info. Research Guide
Research Guide focused on finding industry information.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features business information on US and international companies via "Company Dossier." Either Click on Business under Discover topics near the bottom of the Nexis Uni homepage or click on "Menu" at the top left of the screen.

Types of Companies

Information on companies varies greatly depending on the type of company. Use a directory to determine whether a company is public, private, non-profit or non-U.S.

Public
There is a great deal of information available on companies which trade on the stock market - SEC filings, annual reports, analysts' reports, news stories, books and case studies.

Private
Information on private companies is usually limited to brief information in directories, news stories, and sometimes books. All 50 states make some level of corporate and business filings available online, see Business Filings Databases for links to the states.

International
The amount of information on international companies varies. If the company trades on the U.S. exchanges it must file annual reports (20-F) with the SEC. Other information can be found in directories, databases, newspapers and magazines.

Non-Profit
Finances and other general information can be found in Form 990 which nonprofits must file with the IRS annually. Many are posted on the web at Guidestar.org. Some information can also be found in newspaper and journal articles.