Library Guides: Biochemistry Graduate Program (Masters): Course Guide: Searching & Writing

Writing and Publishing for the Health Sciences: A Guide

Writing and Publishing for the Health Sciences: A Guide
A guide to assist with NIH requirements, how to locate style & citation information and citation managers, EndNote Web & RefWorks. Information on bibliometrics and how to find out how your publication is being cited. From Matas Library
BioRender (Tulane license for BioRender Premium)
scientific illustration app for life science research, publications, posters, and presentations with drag-and-drop icons, intuitive figures, and free design templates.
Tulane University Information Technology
Research Technology Resources
- cutting-edge technology to advance research and enable new insights for researchers.

EndNote & EndNote basic

EndNote basic (Web only version) is a free web-based version of Endnote. Some restrictions apply.

EndNote (download of full program- Tulane License ) is a desktop program designed to manage your references. It is offered to current Tulane students and employees by a campus-wide site license agreement with Clarivate Analytics .

https://clarivate.libguides.com/home

___________

EndNote is available to Tulane students, faculty and staff!
https://libguides.tulane.edu/endnote

* Tulane Authentication Required * - Installation and Tulane Settings available at the link above.

Step-by-Step EndNote Web and 'Cite While You Write' instructions
This brief guides provides step-by-step instructions for EndNote Web including instructions on how to set-up and organize your EndNote Web account, import and export instructions for specific databases, and the 'Cite While You Write' plugin

Information on using EndNote, with links to resources.
Clarivate Analytics
Using EndNote Basic/Online - YouTube Tutorials Covers using EndNote in the online environment
EndNote Online Help
Purchase EndNote Desktop via Tulane University's software distribution site
EndNote Desktop Support Knowledge Base
EndNote Training YouTube Channel
EndNote User Resources
EndNote basic (via Tulane network)
Create an account from off-campus.

LIterature Searches

Refer to these key databases for health sciences journal articles, conference proceedings, etc. Use TULink to determine availability. If an item you need is not available at Tulane, health sciences (downtown users) may requests articles via TULink to Matas Library - Interlibrary Loan.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical, pharmaceutical and medical device research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
NOTE: access to CAS SciFinder-n requires creating a username and password from on campus or logged in thru Tulane's proxy server. Instructions for creating a username and password can be found at https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1E2FBB45-86F3-F014-11B1-3086F1FE24E1
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. Includes biological sciences, microbiology toxicology, animal behavior, neurosciences. Includes conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world. Full text available for most dissertations added since 1997. Selective coverage of Tulane University scholarship begins in 1957.
Search NCBI databases (GQuery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic, sequence, and structural databases. Human Genome, GenBank, BLAST, and other NCBI databases. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information.