Explorers, Travelers, and Tourists

Scott Wilson was in public relations and also a major political campaign manager in Louisiana. He led ad campaigns for Maison Blanche, Latin American commerce, Coastal Television Company, New Orleans Cotton Exchange, the City of New Orleans, and the St. Charles Hotel.
Extensive materials relating to Central and Latin America.

This collection is composed of the business records of Standard Fruit & Steamship Co. and related bodies, including the files of Salvador D'Antoni as well as administrative records throughout the corporate evolution of the company.

Journal of a daughter of an Episcopal Minister on a trip to England and the continent with her Uncle Forester Weeks, Aunt Mary, and Mary. The journal describes hotels, museums, etc. and contains many pressed flowers.

The Travelers Aid Society of New Orleans was incorporated in 1913, emphasizing charitible support and temporary lodging for stranded women. In the 1930s, social workers were hired to work on emergency cases at train, bus and steamship terminals. The Travelers Aid Society of Greater New Orleans in the twenty-first century emphasizes the prevention of homelessness in the community.

Box 3: Programs, pamphlets and other printed materials
Folder 1: Travel material, 1902-1934, undated
Folder 2: Panama trip material
Folder 3: Chicago World's Fair material

1904-1913? Travel journals and albums of commercial photographs of Edith Bayne Denegre, a native of New Orleans. She describes in some detail her trips to Cuba in 1909 and Panama in 1911, where she visited Col. William Crawford Gorgas and viewed construction of the Canal. Also includes her short history of Mexico written about 1913. 11 pieces; 190 photographs.
Call Number: Latin American Library Manuscripts, Collection 58

Call Number: Latin American Library Manuscripts, Collection 121
1937-1938. Materials related to a 2-year travel survey of libraries in Central America and the Caribbean; field letters with descriptions of libraries and countries, photographs of libraries and other places, preliminary layout pages of photographs for publication, and clippings. 1051 photographs; 187 other pieces.

Call Number: Latin American Library Manuscripts, Collection 38
1900-1926. Correspondence, reports, questionnaires, clippings, and other printed matter relating to Hoffman, statistician for Prudential Life Insurance. Materials show his interest in diseases and the effects of climate on health as indicated in reports from Mexico. Also includes correspondence about his travel in Mexico and South America. 34 pieces.

October 1915. Bound typewritten report submitted by the medical officer in charge of the campaign against hookworm in Grenada under the International Health Commission. Includes a detailed description of the island, its people, maps, charts, various medical reports, and 148 black and white photographs. 1 piece; 384 pages.
Call Number: Latin American Library Manuscripts, Collection 119

1835-1872. Correspondence, clippings, documents, and manuscripts of this journalist-diplomat relating to his travels in Central America and Peru. Included are valuable historic photographs (see examples below) and stereographs of Honduras and Peru. 1,082 pieces.
Call Number: Latin American Library Manuscripts, Collection 22