Library Guides: Population Studies: Demographics, Data & Statistics

What are "Demographics"?

Demography is defined as the statistical study of human populations, especially with reference to size and density, distribution, and vital statistics (births, marriages, deaths, etc.).

Listed on this page are primary demographic and population resources available on the web, and through the Tulane Libraries.

General U.S Demographic & Population Data

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.census.gov (formerly American FactFinder) is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

United States Census Bureau
Government agency responsible for the United States Census, and for gathering national demographic and economic data. As part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau serves as a leading source of data about America's people and economy.
Diversity Data Project
Identifies metropolitan area indicators of diversity, opportunity, quality of life and health for various racial and ethnic population groups. Allows users to describe, profile and rank U.S. metros in terms of quality of life.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

Population Index
Database of abstracts of published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Collection of statistics on demographic, economic social and other aspects of the economy and society.
Decennial Census of Population and Housing This link opens in a new window
The U.S. census counts each resident of the country, where they live on April 1, every ten years ending in zero. The Constitution mandates the enumeration to determine how to apportion the House of Representatives among the states. Includes some of the census information from 1790-2010.

International Demographic & Population Data

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world. Includes country profiles, statistical information, thematic and physical maps, as well as a current newswire.

EuroStat
The statistical office of the European Union. Provides high quality statistics for Europe with detailed statistics on the EU and candidate countries to enable comparisons.
International Programs (US Census Bureau)
Complete A-Z listing of links to official government statistical data of individual countries.
LABORSTA
Metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics
Nation Master
Database of variables for comparing countries. Provides demographic indicators covering various statistical areas. Statistics available in pie charts, scatterplots, and correlation graphs. Data is taken from public domain.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Includes content published by International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)

UN Data
A data access system to UN databases and national data/statistics agencies.
UNFPA
UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund, is the lead UN agency for delivering a world where every pregnancy is wanted, every birth is safe, and every young person's potential is fulfilled.
United Nations Statistical Databases
The United Nations provides free access to over 15 UN statistical databases.

Country Profiles & Reports

The following databases will provide you with country specific information for individual countries of the world and their territories. These resources include such information as history, politics, economic background and key institutions.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business and political intelligence for more than 200 countries. Reports and Services include: Country Reports, Country Forecast, Global Outlook, Commodities, Industry Briefing, CountryData and Market Indicators & Forecasts.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world and for the public and private sector organizations with global operations and interests.

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. Department of State)
BBC News - Country Profiles
Full profiles of individual countries, covering history, politics and economic background of each country and territory, and background on key institutions. Also included are audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Library of Congress -Country Studies
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
OECD Economic Surveys
The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides statistics available for its 32 member countries. including background information, overviews, and statistical profiles of each country.
World Bank - Country & Regions
World Bank briefs and reports on economic conditions of geographic regions and individual countries of the world.
World Health Organization (WHO) - Countries
Provides overviews and analysis of world nations focusing on health and health care issues including statistics relating to all countries.