Library Guides: MCOM 3010-Management Communication: Industry Information

What is an industry?

An industry is a group of companies that are related in terms of their primary business activities. In modern economies, there are dozens of different industry classifications, which are typically grouped into larger categories called sectors.

Individual companies are generally classified into industries based on their largest sources of revenue. For example, an automobile manufacturer might have a small financing division that contributes 10% to overall revenues, but the company will still be universally classified as an auto maker for attribution purposes.

Source: Investopedia
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/i/industry.asp#ixzz48qlv6zSM

NAICS/SIC Codes Resources

Find NAICS and SIC codes for a specific industry using one of the resources below:

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
This is based on 1987 descriptions of each 4-digit SIC code by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). Some codes are catchalls for different products, or will be designated "NEC" or "not elsewhere classified."
North American Industrial Classification System
This system classifies business establishments by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB).The NAICS system is used by the statistical agencies of the United States. NAICS replaces the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).

Sources for Industry Information

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Includes reference content from Gale's core business collection, company and investment research reports, industry rankings and surveys, profiles, market share data, and company histories.

Encyclopedia of Associations
A comprehensive list of national organizations described briefly, with names, addresses, and telephone numbers. Associations keep track of industry data for their members and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources. Indexes include name of organization, key word, and geographic area.

Fitch Connect (fka BMI Research) This link opens in a new window
Fitch Connect (fka BMI Research) contains global industry reports with a focus on forecasting. It includes country risk and financial market reports on industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications. Geographic regions covered: Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, and North America; reports are further divided by country. NOTE: users must agree to the use terms and privacy policy to access this resource
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of detailed industry research reports. Industry reports include industry analysis, outlook, products and markets, market segments, supply chain, major players, competitive landscape, operating conditions, key statistics, and more. This subscription includes reports for the United States and China, as well as global industry reports. Specialized industry reports are also included along with US business environment data profiles. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length.
This subscription includes reports for the US and China, as well as global industry reports. Specialized industry reports are also included along with US business environment data profiles. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
The Mintel database contains the following:
Mintel Reports- covers brands, companies, markets, consumers and trends. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
Mintel Market Sizes – global market data including market size, share and segmentation data.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
S&P NetAdvantage includes a broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis including Industry Surveys, and Equity Research (formerly Stock Reports). Industry data sets include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography (see Markets tab). Archived Industry Surveys included as far back as 1999 depending upon title continuity. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private and public companies.
Thomson One This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thomson One is no longer supported and was replaced by Refinitiv Workspace for Students. RWS can be found on the Turchin Business Library's A-Z database page https://libguides.tulane.edu/busdatabases. You will need to create an account before using.

Alternatively, if you would like to access Thomson One, you can still do so using a Microsoft Edge browser. Here are instructions for allowing Edge to open pages as Internet Explorer:
Open Microsoft Edge on Windows 10.
1. Click the Settings and More (ellipsis) button on the top-right corner.
2. Select the Settings option.
3. Click on Default browser.
4. Under the "Internet Explorer compatibility" section, turn on the "Allow sites to be reloaded in Internet Explorer mode" toggle switch.

Must use with Internet Explorer. Disable pop-up blockers. Limit of 20 simultaneous users. Company information from a variety of sources provided by Thomson Reuters including: private equity, company financials and filings, mergers and acquisitions data and analyst reports. Data types include: company overviews, company news and price charts, corporate governance (takeover defense), corporate financial fundamentals, estimates (and earnings surprises), debt overview, company deals, share ownership information, company research, company financial filings, officers and directors.

Turchin Business Library

MCOM 3010-Management Communication

For more information...

A few words about associations...

What is an industry?

NAICS/SIC Codes Resources

Sources for Industry Information