Demographics are the physical characteristics of a population such as age, sex, marital status, family size, education, geographic location, and occupation.
Demographic data is available from many sources including both government agencies and private commercial sources. One of the primary sources is the United States Census Bureau and itsreports based on the decennial census. Every household answers a number of basic questions on their numbers, sex, relationship, race, tenure, rent and or value of their home. Some households are selected to fill out longer forms that include more detailed questions such as their ancestry, occupation, income, education, expenditures and more.
One-year, 3-year, and 5-year estimates for the nation from the most recent release. Broad subject categories include social, economic, housing, and demographic.
A monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Census Bureau for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Estimates obtained from the CPS include employment, unemployment, earnings, hours of work, and other indicators.
A collection of U.S. statistics and stories including information on demographics, public health, energy consumption, mean income and other topics categorized by location, industry, occupation and education.
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for over 800 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual States, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
Provides the only comprehensive, regularly collected source of information on selected economic and demographic characteristics for businesses and business owners by gender, ethnicity, race, and veteran status.
A searchable database of manufacturers, suppliers, and contractors in the United States provided by the Department of Commerce. Useful for those seeking to source Made in the U.S.A. textiles, apparel, and footwear products.
Collects data and measures change for many topics including: economic well-being, family dynamics, education, assets, health insurance, childcare, and food security.
Online query system based on ACL-related data files and surveys, and includes population characteristics from the Census Bureau for comparison purposes.
The Census Bureau collects data for the American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) population and publishes AIAN specific counts, estimates, and statistics at many geographic levels.
This report provides a portrait of the Black population in the United States and discusses its distribution at the national level and at lower levels of geography.
It is part of a series that analyzes population and housing data collected from the 2010 Census.
CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
A collection of U.S. statistics and stories including information on demographics, public health, energy consumption, education, mean income and other topics categorized by location, industry, occupation and education.
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
Social Explorer “contains over 18,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements, 335,000 variables and 220 years of data”. It can be used to locate census tract boundary information from 1940 to the present.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Lifestyle Analytics
Nonprofit Organizations/Academic Institutions/Other Data
The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Employment and Training Institute provides access to Purchasing Power Profiles for 16 different types of consumer expenditures for all Census Tracts and residential zip codes in the U.S.
