Library Guides: Music Competition and Career Resources: A Guide: Career Resources

Higher Education

Musical America Worldwide
Call Number: ML12 .M88 (Music & Media Center, reference collection)
Publication Date: 2005-present
Musical America Worldwide (aka Musical America Directory) is perhaps the most comprehensive print publication that indexes not only orchestras, opera companies, music schools, and music publishers, but also offers thousands of entries for summer music camps, competitions, and awards.

Writing for a Little Supplemental Income

Writing reviews of concerts, recordings, books, and scores may not bring in any money but it's a valuable writing experience to include on your CV. Program notes, on the other, can sometimes bring in a little extra something for the cash-strapped musician and also is a great skill to have under your belt when you're looking for a job. The two books listed below provided excellent guidance for both these forms of writing as well as strong examples.

A Short Guide to Writing About Music by Bellman, Jonathan D.
Call Number: ML3797 .B4 2007
ISBN: 9780321187918
Location: Music & Media Center, Reference Collection
Writing about Music by Richard Wingell
Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2009
ISBN: 9780136157786
Location: Music & Media Center, Music Reference
Writing about Music by Richard Wingell
Call Number: ML3797 .W54 2002
ISBN: 0130406031
Location: Howard-Tilton Stacks

Career Resources

The titles listed below is just a small selection of books in our library collection about musical careers. To find more, conduct a Catalog search on: music "vocational guidance".

Musical America Worldwide
Call Number: ML12 .M88 (Music & Media Center, reference collection)
Publication Date: 2005-present
In addition to information about competitions and festivals, Musical America Worldwide also provides listings for artists managers, orchestras, opera companies, choral groups, dance companies, and record companies, among other things. A terrific starting resource to help you find outfits in your area that you can audition for.
Professional Careers in Music, Perfomer, Composer, Conductor
Call Number: [e-book]
ISBN: 1423725891
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
This title provides an engaging review of different musical vocations as well as guidance for successfully becoming active in your field of choice.
Music Career Advising by Eric Branscome
Call Number: ML3795 .B767 2013
ISBN: 9781610488457
Music Career Advising: A Guide for Parents Students and Teachers answers the most common music career questions through research-based career advising strategies, a comprehensive inventory of music careers, bibliography of print and on-line music career resources, and additional information gathered through interviews with leading musicians in the field, and faculty members in some of the most prestigious university music programs in the country.
Career Opportunities in the Music Industry by Shelly Field
Call Number: [e-book]
ISBN: 9781438128337
Publication Date: 2010
This book provides interesting discussion about the large variety of career opportunities in music and includes several indices providing names and contact information for record agencies, professional organizations, booking agencies, trade associations, and more.
Careers in Popular Music
Call Number: [e-book]
ISBN: 9781423799443
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
This title provides a useful overview of careers in popular music. Importantly, it identifies personal qualifications, features and educational background often looked for in candidates, as well as average earnings for different careers.
Great Jobs for Music Majors by Jan Goldberg
Call Number: [e-book]
ISBN: 0071454616
While some of the content in this title overlaps with other titles in this bibliography, unique to this book is guidance on writing your resume and cover letter as well as handling the job interview and job offer.
How Not to Destroy Your Career in Music by Bruce Haring
Call Number: ML3795 .H3 2005
ISBN: 1580650643
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
this title provides practical advice for managing your own musical output (particularly important for performers managing their own recordings and composers managing the publication of their works).
Music Direction for the Stage by Joseph Church
Call Number: MT955 .C59 2015
ISBN: 9780199993413
Publication Date: 2015
In Music Direction for the Stage, veteran music director and instructor Joseph Church demystifies the job in a book that offers aspiring and practicing music directors the practical tips and instruction they need in order to mount a successful musical production.