Library Guides: Music Competition and Career Resources: A Guide: Competitions

Bakitone - New World of Music Competitions

Bakitone appears the be the most comprehensive online listing of international music competitions for all instruments including conducting. They also have a new browsable index of masteclasses that are, as you know, fantastic experiences to be a part of.

Don't Forget the Trade Journals!

Trade journals are also a fantastic resource for finding upcoming competitions and, perhaps more importantly, learning about who won in the past, what pieces were performed, and the judges' expecations.

ITG Journal (aka International Trumpet Guild Journal)
Strings
Includes regular announcements of upcoming competitions and information about competition winners.
Flute
Published by the British Flute Society, this trade journal offers regular articles and listings about upcoming competitions in flute performance.
The Horn Call: Journal of the International Horn Society
This journal provides a wealth of information for french horn players, including announcements about upcoming competitions and information about past competition winners.
The American Harp Journal
Published by the American Harp Society, this journal provides information about upcoming competitions, reviews of past competitions and their winners, and quite a bit of professional information for harpists.
Classical Guitar
Classical Guitar is a trade publication offering information about competitions, new compositions for the guitar, and much more.
Journal of Singing
This is the National Association of Teachers of Singing's journal. The journal offers regular listings of upcoming competitions as well as advice for preparing for competitions.

A Few Good Print Resources

The Instrument/Genre Research and Information Guides published by Routledge all have an entire chapter dedicated to competitions for the instrument. For example: The Violin: A Research and Information Guide (edited by Mark Katz) has a chapter on violin competitions.

Musical America Worldwide
Call Number: ML12 .M88 (Music & Media Center, reference collection)
Publication Date: 2005-present
Musical America Worldwide (aka Musical America Directory) is perhaps the most comprehensive print publication that indexes not only orchestras, opera companies, music schools, and music publishers, but also offers thousands of entries for summer music camps, competitions, and awards.
Guide to Competitions by Concert Artist Guild
Call Number: ML12 .C66, vol. 19 (Music & Media Center, reference collection)
Publication Date: publication ceased in 2005
Even though this resource is no longer published, the 2005 edition provides information about numerous competitions for all instruments and ensemble types (e.g. quartet) as well as for conductors that are still running. Use this resource to identify potential competitions and then visit the competitions websites provided by the "Guide to Competitions" for more current information about location, cost, etc.