EndNote is a popular citation management program. You can use it to save and organize your references, insert and format citations and bibliographies, and to search library databases.

EndNote Desktop
EndNote 20 is available to Tulane students and faculty for free. 

EndNote as a reference and full text organizer with a collaborative Web tool

• Group references according to your research projects and attach up to 45 files per record for managing related materials.
• Locate full text PDF files for you or create a reference when importing a PDF file. Synchronize references and file attachments to your EndNote Web account.
• Share groups with other EndNote users easily and manage your ResearcherID publication list.

EndNote as a bibliography maker

• Cite While You Write™ takes the pain out of citing and formatting references in Microsoft Word, and OpenOffice.org Writer 3 for Windows. You can also create bibliographies for other word processors using Format Paper (RTF files).

EndNote as an online search tool

• You can search online bibliographic resources and retrieve references directly into your EndNote library. You can also export references to EndNote from your favorite online resource (see "Direct Export Providers" in EndNote Help)

Courtesy of University of Pittsburgh Libraries

1. Choose your operating system:

• EndNote 20 for MacOS
• EndNote 20 for Windows 10 (PC)

2. Install Capture Reference, a browser bookmarklet that can be used to capture and save online references from webpages, into EndNote online or EndNote Desktop. Capture Reference scans the bibliographic information presented on a Web page and creates a reference for you to save to a new or existing group. If no group is specified, the reference is saved to Unfiled. Some databases, such as Google Scholar™ and PubMed, allow you to capture an entire page of references all at once.

How to Install 

1. Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link. OR 
2. Edit the bookmark and change the URL to be the javascript listed below:

javascript:var obj=document.getElementsByTagName("head")[0];var scripts=obj.getElementsByTagName("SCRIPT");var flag=0;var ENW_HOST="";var httpPort=%27:80%27;var httpsPort=%27:443%27;var protocol=location.protocol;if( protocol.match(/https:/) && (navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Trident/7.0") > 0 || navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Trident/8.0") > 0 || navigator.userAgent.indexOf("Edge/") > 0)) {ENW_HOST=%27http://www.myendnoteweb.com%27+httpPort;}else {var port=protocol.match(/https:/)?httpsPort:httpPort;ENW_HOST=protocol+%27//www.myendnoteweb.com%27+port;}for(i=0;i<scripts.length;i++) {if(scripts[i].src.match(/bookmarklet.js/)) {flag=1;break;}}if(this.disabled == undefined && flag==0) {this.disabled = true;try{var x=document.createElement(%27SCRIPT%27);x.type=%27text/javascript%27;x.src=ENW_HOST+%27/Download/public/bookmarklet.js?%27+(new Date().getTime()/100000);document.getElementsByTagName(%27head%27)[0].appendChild(x);}catch(e){console.log(e);};}this.disabled = undefined;void(0)

Can't See a Bookmarks Toolbar?

• To turn on the bookmarks toolbar in Chrome, navigate to the top right, click the menu icon (the 3 dots) and select ‘Bookmarks’ and ‘show Bookmarks Bar’. Alternatively, you can press Ctrl+Shift+B (in Windows) or Command+Shift+B (in macOS).
• To turn on the bookmarks toolbar in Firefox, click the ‘View’ menu at the top of the screen, go down to Toolbars and select ‘Bookmarks Toolbar’.
• To turn on the bookmarks bar in Safari, click on the ‘View’ menu in Safari and select ‘Show Favorites Bar’.

For the Capture buttons to work best, you must be in a Capture compatible resource and at the individual item level (not in a list of citations)

(https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-Capture-Reference-Tool?language=en_US, 6 April 2020).

The "Find Full Text" feature maximizes chances that EndNote can find all available PDF's for your references. Follow these steps to configure EndNote for Tulane authentication:

1. Windows: Click Edit > Preferences.
Mac: Click Endnote > Preferences > Find Full Text.

2. From the "EndNote Preferences" window, select "Find Full Text" on the left-hand side

3. Copy-and-paste or type the following In the "Open URL Path" box: https://library.search.tulane.edu/openurl/01TUL_INST/01TUL_INST:Tulane?sid=

4. Copy-and-paste or type the following In the "URL" box under "Authenticate with": https://library.search.tulane.edu/discovery/account?vid=01TUL_INST:Tulane

5. Click "Apply" and "OK" to close the window

You can now use the "Find Full Text" feature in EndNote. You will be asked to authenticate using your Tulane login credentials.

Instant formatting enables you to watch the reference list (bibliography) appear as you insert citations. If you are writing a long or complex document such as a thesis, it is recommended that instant formatting is turned off as it can be time-consuming to reformat each time a new citation is inserted.

When finished writing the document or if you want to see a draft, click on Update Citations and Bibliography to format the citations and reference list.

To continue work on the document, unformat the citations using the Convert Citations and Bibliography option.

Question: How can I insert a citation to multiple references in the same spot in the Word document? 

Answer:

1. Place your cursor in the Word document where you want to insert the citation(s).
2. Return to EndNote by clicking the Go to EndNote button.
3. Select all wanted references in EndNote and then use the Insert Citation button (looks like a quotation mark) that’s along the t

Question: In Word, how can I toggle between the in-text citation and the reference ?

Answer(s): This is accomplished by creating a hyperlink between the citations and bibliography.

1. Click the small arrow in the bottom right corner of the Bibliography group to open the Configure Bibliography window.
2. In  the Configure Bibliography window, select  'Link in-text citations to references in the Bibliography"

3. Highlight the in-text reference and select Edit Library Reference on the tool bar, it will pop open the reference in the EndNote library.

Training and Support

Important system update:

As you may be aware, Apple will be releasing macOS 10.15 Catalina this fall. Apple has made the decision to drop all 32-bit application support with this release, which will impact EndNote.

EndNote X9 for macOS will be extensively updated for compatibility prior to the launch of Catalina. If you already have EndNote X9, please install all updates as they become available to avoid interruption in your workflow.

If you are running EndNote X8 or earlier, we recommend upgrading to EndNote X9 as based on early information from Apple, your current version will not work with macOS Catalina. Alternately, you may keep working on your current macOS version.

For more details, please visit https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-for-Mac-macOS-Ca.... December 14, 2020

Switching Output Styles:

Machine info: macOS Mojave version 10.14.5; Microsoft Word for Mac version 16.26 (Office 365 subscription)

Tool: EndNote X9 Cite While You Write

Issue: Cannot change style for the bibliography or in-text citations in the Word document

Solution:

1. Go to System Preferences
2. Select “Security and Privacy”
3. Select “Privacy”
4. Select “Automation”
5. Make sure that both “EndNote” and “Microsoft Word” are checked. Apply settings.

Changing the settings allows for style changes.