Library Guides: History of Medicine and Public Health: A Guide: Locating Libraries, Archives and Booksellers

Seeking to Purchase or Sell?

Selected Conglomerate web sites for OUT OF PRINT book purchases and OUT OF PRINT dealers. Users may also use these search engines to help determine an approximate value of a specific book that is out-of-print.

AbeBooks.com
AbeBooks' 13,500 professional booksellers.
Alibris.com
Search for used, new, and out-of-print books.
AddALL book search and price comparison
Search and Compare among sites, sellers, and books.

Garrison & Morton's Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology and Dentistry

Morton's Medical Bibliography - an interactive bibliography by Jeremy M. Norman (Editor)
ISBN: 0859678970
Publication Date: 1991-01-28
Jeremy Norman’s HistoryofMedicine.com. An Interactive Annotated Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology and Dentistry from Circa 2000 BCE to Circa 1980 - The fifth edition, published in 1991, and the last edition in book form, contained nearly 9000 entries, most of which were annotated. The new revised web version, offered free of charge, incorporates interactive features and other enhancements which significantly improve usability.

Libraries and Archives

Directory of History of Medicine Collections
Online version of the History of Medicine component of DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources Online), a National Library of Medicine (NLM) database.
The Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America
The ABAA specializes in rare and antiquarian books, maps, and prints. Includes information on locating and contacting ABAA booksellers, an online booksellers catalog, ABAA book fairs and research.

Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences

Archivists and Librarians in the History of the Health Sciences (ALHHS).
This Association is established exclusively for educational purposes to serve the professional interests of librarians, archivists, and other specialists actively engaged in the librarianship of the history of the health sciences by promoting the exchange of information and by improving standards of service.
Article of interest: Michael North. "The Antiquarian Medical Book Trade: a survey and directory of dealers and a list of internet resources. The Watermark (Winter 2002-03): Volume XXVI, Number 1.

Tulane University

Rudolph Matas Library. Health Sciences Reference Dept.

Email Me

Contact:

1430 Tulane Ave, New Orleans LA 70112

504.988.5155