Library Guides: Forensic Psychiatry Research Guide: Databases

Legal Research

Use Databases & Indexes (the terms are often used interchangeably) to identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need.

Basic Legal Research: Library Guide
by Rachel Stein Last Updated Oct 17, 2024 1052 views this year

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).

Specialty Databases for Psychiatric Research Topics

PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines, DSM Library, Textbook of Psychiatry and other full text psychiatry books and journals.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology from around the world.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost. Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress Database) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest. The Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. Includes citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and offers both current and retrospective coverage.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost. The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
EbscoHost. Includes topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

APA PsycNet
American Psychological Association

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Reviews -- Trials -- Clinical Answers

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories, 1946 - present. Ovid MEDLINE(R), Ovid MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
OVID This link opens in a new window
Select Ovid Resources- Includes MEDLINE(Ovid); Global Health and Health Star (public health databases), plus full text books and journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

Sociology and Social Welfare Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost. Coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window ProQuest. Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, PAIS Index, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Proquest's Education and Criminology collections, and more. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window ProQuest. Contains bibliographic citations with abstracts for journal articles and dissertations in all branches of the field of Sociology.

Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary full-text general literature Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Tulane subscribes to current and backfiles of select Annual Reviews titles.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for many journals indexed in CINAHL.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Covers: Full-text of many dissertations after 1997, citations and/or abstracts prior to 1997
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides full text of more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. Good for school health, patient health, pediatric topics. Coverage from 1966-present.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited).Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. 1976 - present.
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window Holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

Point of Care Tools

Point-of-care tools are research and reference resources that a clinician utilizes immediately at the point-of-care with a patient.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Clinical point of care resource for primary care providers. Monitors medical journals and systematic evidence review databases. Dynamed Mobile app available for iOS and Android.
Select 'Mobile' from menu and enter your email address to send yourself the instructions, key and a link to download the Dynamed Mobile (EBSCO Publishing) app. Renew the subscription every 6 months from a TU computer.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Full text books & journals, Procedures Consult (medical procedure videos), First Consult (evidence-based clinical decision-making), MEDLINE search. Create username and password to download full text & install apps.

Diagnosaurus 2.0
Search over 1000+ differential diagnoses by symptoms, diseases or organ system. Diagnosaurus app also available. Via AccessMedicine.

Gideon This link opens in a new window
Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window
Drug and disease information, drug ID, interactions, toxicology, NeoFax/pediatrics, clinical calculators, CareNotes (patient info), iOS, Android and Windows 8 apps available.
Select 'Download mobile apps' for installation and password.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines, DSM Library, Textbook of Psychiatry and other full text psychiatry books and journals.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Filter PubMed search results by clinical study category (diagnosis, prognosis, etiology, therapy) and scope (broad or narrow).
GeneReviews® NCBI Bookshelf GeneReviews, an international point-of-care resource for busy clinicians, provides clinically relevant and medically actionable information for inherited conditions in a standardized journal-style format, covering diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling for patients and their families. Each chapter in GeneReviews is written by one or more experts on the specific condition or disease and goes through a rigorous editing and peer review process before being published online.

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
Visual diagnostic decision support system for dermatology with medical images and information. iOS and Android app available.
Mobile install: Launch VisualDx at your institution and click “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad or Android device" or "Get Mobile" (top right of page). Then create a personal username and password, download app, launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in.