Library Guides: Forensic Psychiatry Research Guide: Journals

Major Criminology Journals

A selected list of journals with high impact factors for current awareness. The most recent issue of the journals listed should be available. Older issues may require searching the Tulane e-Journals list or the Library Catalog. Impact Factor subject categories: CRIMINOLOGY & PENOLOGY.

Aggression and violent behavior [1359-1789]
ScienceDirect
Crime & delinquency [0011-1287]
Sage
Crime and justice [0192-3234]
LexisNexis Academic
Criminal justice and behavior [0093-8548]
Sage
Criminology [0011-1384]
Wiley
Forensic science international [0379-0738]
ScienceDirect
Homicide studies [1088-7679]
Sage
International journal of offender therapy and comparative criminology [0306-624X]
Sage
Journal of Criminal Justice [0047-2352]
ScienceDirect
Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology [0091-4169]
Hein Online Law Journal Library
Journal of interpersonal violence [0886-2605]
Sage
Journal of Psychiatry & Law [0093-1853]
Changed to: Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology (2003)
Journal of Quantitative Criminology [0748-4518]
SpringerLink
Justice Quarterly : JQ [0741-8825]
Hein Online Law Journal Library
Punishment & society [1462-4745]
Sage
The journal of forensic psychiatry & psychology [1478-9949]
Available EBSCOhost
Database: Legal Collection -- Publications
more...less...
Available from 2003
Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available
The Journal of forensic psychiatry [0958-5184]
EBSCOHost. Changed to: Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology in 2003
The Journal of research in crime and delinquency [0022-4278]
Sage
The Prison journal [0032-8855]
Sage
Theoretical criminology [1362-4806]
Sage

Major Psychiatric Journals

BrowZine- Psychiatry Journals
Topical Search: Biomedical and Health Sciences - Psychiatry
Acta neuropsychiatrica [0924-2708]
Wiley
Acta psychiatrica Scandinavica [0001-690X]
Wiley
Addiction [0965-2140]
Wiley
American journal of psychiatry [0002-953X]
PsychiatryOnline
Archives of general psychiatry [0003-990X]
AMA. JAMA Network
Biological psychiatry [0006-3223]
ScienceDirect
Bipolar disorders [1398-5647]
Wiley
British journal of psychiatry [0007-1250]
Journals@Ovid
Current psychiatry [1537-8276]
Free full-text
European neuropsychopharmacology [0924-977X]
ScienceDirect
International journal of neuropsychopharmacology [1461-1457]
Cambridge
Journal of child psychology and psychiatry and allied disciplines [0021-9630]
Wiley
Journal of clinical psychopharmacology [0271-0749]
Journals@Ovid
Journal of the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry [0890-8567]
ClinicalKey
The journal of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law [1093-6793]
(Prior to 1997, the Bulletin of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law)
Highwire Press -- Free
Molecular psychiatry [1359-4184]
nature.com
Neuropsychopharmacology [0893-133X]
nature.com
Psychiatry [1550-5952]
From EBSCOhost - Database: CINAHL Plus with Full Text -- Publications
Psychiatry [1550-5952]
PubMed Central
Psychiatric clinics of North America [0193-953X]
ClinicalKey
Psychological medicine [0033-2917]
Cambridge
Psychosomatic medicine [0033-3174]
Journals@Ovid
Psychosomatics [0033-3182]
ScienceDirect
Schizophrenia bulletin [0586-7614]
Available from 1998. Sorry the most recent year is not available. Request new articles via ILLiad.
Schizophrenia research [0920-9964]
ScienceDirect

Search legal journals

HeinOnline.org

Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 250 law journals
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window
cumulates citations from print editions of Index to Legal Periodicals published between 1918–1981

Major Journals in Medicine & Science

A selected list of general medical journals with high impact factors for current awareness.

American journal of medicine [0002-9343]
ClinicalKey
British Medical Journal [0959-8138]
BMJ.com
JAMA: Journal of the American Medicine Association [0098-7484]
JAMA Network via Library Catalog
Lancet [0140-6736]
ScienceDirect
New England Journal of Medicine [0028-4793]
Massachusetts Medical Society

Popular Science Journals for Health Sciences: A Guide
by Mary Holt Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 69 views this year

Finding Appropriate Journals

Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Start here:

Transformative Open Access Publisher Agreements
Information and guidance on publisher waivers for Tulane authors' open access article publishing fees.

______________________________
BMJ Author Hub: Get your research published, discovered and cited.
Sections include: Before you submit, Writing and formatting, After submitting, Promoting your paper…
JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator),
A tool that compares your title and/or abstract to citations already in Medline and recommends potential journals in which to publish.

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Available years: 2003-2018. Find impact factors for journals using InCites Journal Citation Reports.

Journal Metrics from Elsevier -SCOPUS
Explains journal metrics: Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP), The Impact per Publication (IPP), SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)
Journals Recently Accepted by NLM for Inclusion in MEDLINE
Periodically updated with new journals added to MEDLINE/PubMed.

Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
To identify and find periodicals, such as scholarly journals, magazines. Provides publisher information and information on rights and permissions. Links are available for online titles and also to publishers. Search for "information for authors".