Library Guides: History of Medicine and Public Health: A Guide: Books & More

E-book Databases for the Health Sciences

Ebooks may be searched by the book title in the Library Catalog.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill medical books.

AccessMedicine, Case files collection.
Case Files Collection from McGraw-Hill. A collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files series books.

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Full text books, references, updates, and graphics from some of the most respected textbook sources in medicine, nursing, and pharmacology
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Elsevier. Over 1000 book titles are in Clinical Key. Click on Books and use the specialty categories or search for the title of the book. Search for chapter content in the big search box.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window
This e-book collection includes titles on anatomy, embryology, physiology, neuroscience, biochemistry, immunology, neuroscience, and histology. In addition to texts, users can access video clips, self-assessments, clinical skills exercises, and cases for use in problem-based learning.

Thieme Clinical Collections (English Language)
2016-

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, full-text eBooks in a wide range of subject areas: History, The Arts, Social Sciences, Literature & Language, Health & Medicine, Business, and Science & Technology. NOTE: Tulane users must create a personal Ebook Central account from on campus in order to sign in on-site or remotely. Sign-in is required in order to download content.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
formerly netLibrary
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines, DSM Library, Textbook of Psychiatry and other full text psychiatry books and journals.
R2 Online This link opens in a new window
Medical books. Single Users. Miscellaneous publishers hosted by Rittenhouse.
Please note that in order to comply with publishers' copyright policies, excessive print requests will cause a title's print functionality to be suspended for 24 hours.

SpringerLink
Matas licensed 2019- MEDICINE
more...less...
Lyrasis, former Palinet (3000176756) Tulane Univ, Serials Dept R. Matas Lib of the Health Scis (8200752574)
ScienceDirect Book Search
ScienceDirect - All Health Science e-books
NAP - National Academies Press
Reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Many in .pdf format that may be downloaded for free, with registration.

Garrison & Morton's Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology and Dentistry

Morton's Medical Bibliography - an interactive bibliography by Jeremy M. Norman (Editor)
ISBN: 0859678970
Publication Date: 1991-01-28
Jeremy Norman’s HistoryofMedicine.com. An Interactive Annotated Bibliography of the History of Medicine, Biology and Dentistry from Circa 2000 BCE to Circa 1980 - The fifth edition, published in 1991, and the last edition in book form, contained nearly 9000 entries, most of which were annotated. The new revised web version, offered free of charge, incorporates interactive features and other enhancements which significantly improve usability.

Journals that Specialize in History of Medicine

Annals of medical history (1917-1942)
Print @ Matas (Journals Stacks - arranged by title)
more...less...
Library has:v.1 (1917)-v.10 (1928)
ns v.1 (1929)-v.10 (1938)
series 3 v.1 (1939)-v.4 (1942)
Bulletin of the history of medicine [0007-5140]
Online in Project Muse Available from 1996, v.70(1)- | Print @ Matas (Journals Stacks - arranged by title)
more...less...
Library has: v.7 (1939)-v. 78 (2004)
v.79:no.1-2 (2005)
...Bulletin of the Institute of the History of Medicine.
.1 (1933)-v.6 (1938)
Medical history [0025-7273]
An International Journal for the History of Medicine and Related Sciences -- Cambridge Journals Online: available from 1957 volume: 1 issue:1
more...less...
Online full text from PubMed Central - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/journals/228/
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences
Online full text from ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online -available from 1946 until 1995
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences [0022-5045]
Online full text from Project Muse Report - available from 2000, v.55(1)-
Journal of the history of medicine and allied sciences [0022-5045]
Project Muse.
Medical history [0025-7273]
Online full text from Cambridge University Press Current Complete - available from 1957 v.1(1)-
more...less...
Also Online full text from PubMed Central
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/journals/228/

Civil War Medicine

Civil War Pharmacy by Michael A. Flannery
Call Number: E621 .F58 2004 (Howard-Tilton)
ISBN: 0789015021
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
online via Library Catalog

The Rudolph Matas Library's military history collecton contains many works and artifacts from throughout American history, including Confederate imprints. Of particular interest to American Civil War researchers is Medical and Surgical History of the War of the Rebellion (1861-65). An index for this work is available from the Medical Reference Department.

Search for Digital Versions of historic works

The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) in Internet Archive
A digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. Free access to quality historical resources in medicine.
Internet Archive
Google Books
Many books available for full text searching. Useful in searching for historic topics as many books out of copyright are available free and in full text.

Need a Book?

Find Books - WZ (History of Medicine)

19th Century Schedule

Ask for assistance to locate 17th-early 20th century titles at the Matas Library.

Use the NLM Catalog, LocatorPlus, to identify health science and biomedical titles.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Find Books

Use the Library Catalog to locate both e-books and printed books.

Browse the Matas Library stacks using NLM Classification. Books in the other Tulane Libraries are shelved by the LC classificationsystem.

Need a book we don't have? Registered Matas users may request that the Matas Library purchase a copy of recently published book for the collection, or request from another library using our free Interlibrary Loan Service.