Environmental Studies Library Guide

2015
Over 6,000 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.

2008
Environmental science and engineering is a truly interdisciplinary field. The Dictionary of Environmental Science and Engineering explains many important specialist environmental terms in a clear and concise way. It also provides an extensive guide to the many acronyms encountered in environmental science

2007
Explores the emerging socio-environmental problems that we face in the next century as well as the shifting and expanding theoretical tools available for tackling these problems.

2008
Geographic information science is an information science focusing on the collection, modeling, management, display, and interpretation of geographic data. By incorporating spatial location (geography) as an essential characteristic of what we seek to understand in the natural and built environment, geographic information science (GISci) and systems (GIS) provide the conceptual foundation and synergistic tools to explore this frontier.

2008
Covers a variety of topics relating to global warming and climate change such as social effects and scientific causes. Entries on individual countries and key figures are also included.

2003
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

Provides an overview of key principles, approaches, strategies, and tools that businesses have used to reduce environmental impacts and contribute to sustainability.

Provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment.

Offers a wide-ranging examination of green consumerism, one reflecting the diversity of views and debates surrounding the concept.

Explores the ongoing paradigm shift in culture and lifestyles toward promoting a sustainable environment.

Explores the environmental movement’s proliferation in the field of education, from elementary school classroom efforts to the university curriculum to building sustainable campuses.

Provides an overview of the social and environmental dimensions of our energy system, and the key organizations, policy tools, and technologies that can help shape a green-energy economy.

Covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement.

More than just broccoli!
Green Food lays out the contours of the field of agri-food studies. It draws on scholars working in the fields of political ecology, rural sociology, geography, and environmental studies to paint a picture of the past, present, and future of agriculture and food.

Examines the green movement within the contexts of personal health and the healthcare industry, focusing on consumer lifestyles and how they affect resource conservation, pollution prevention, and environmental management.

Explores the multitude of threats to sustainable life on earth and the myriad of controversies surrounding potential solutions.

This collection of entries comprises some of the essential concepts, actors, institutions, and processes in green politics today.

Explores the essential role of technology and its most recent developments toward a sustainable environment.