Open Access Initiatives from/about Latin America

A project originated in the Latin American Studies Association (LASA), the Latin America Research Commons (LARC) provides open access to original monographs and journals in all disciplines related to Latin American Studies. It is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

This database provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources related to Latin America and the Caribbean. Users can search by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title.

The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents database, LAPTOC, provides open access to the tables of contents of journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean between1994 and 2009. LAPTOC consists of 975 academic and research journals published in 29 countries in the region, including bibliographic references to more than 340,000 articles. Database searches can be made by journal title, keywords in author and article titles, and country of publication. Available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

The Latin American Open Archives Portal, LAOAP, provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. An excellent resource for searching working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and more material published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies.

The Latin American Journals Project provides access to literary and cultural journals published in the Hispanophone Caribbean and Latin America during the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

This collection of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches pertains to the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP).

JSTOR provides free and open access to 112 books published by Prometeo Editorial, one of the most important Argentine publishers in the fields of Social Sciences and History. All titles are published in Spanish.

A partnership led by the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) in collaboration with the Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO), JSTOR, and Latin American bookseller García Cambeiro provides open access to more than 400 Latin American monographs. Open access ebooks. All titles are published in Spanish.