Background Research - EAPP 1000 - Muhando - Fall 2023 - Library Guides at Tulane University

Where Do I Start?

Encyclopedias are highly recommended as a starting point for your research on a particular topic. Encyclopedias will give you introductory information to help you broaden or narrow your topic, while also providing keywords and terms needed to conduct further research.

Encyclopædia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Encyclopedia Databases

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Literati (by Credo) This link opens in a new window
When you need answers fast. Literati is a solid starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Explore a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, background information, and translations found in dictionaries and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A social sciences digital library that includes a range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, videos, and more.