Find Articles - ENGL 1010 - Bagneris - Library Guides at Tulane University

Why Articles?

Articles:

tend to be highly focused on a comparatively narrow aspect of a much larger subject;
take a deep dive into a very focused topic;
generally better able to discuss current issues and events (although there are a lot of qualifiers here).

Articles excel at provided focused insights into a topic and they may be able to refer to more recent events than books. Articles are not necessarily good at unveiling the larger historical, social, cultural, or scientific context (or network) their topics participate in.

Recommended Article Databases

The following databases were recommended specifically for this class as a starting place (definitely not an ending place).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Wall Street Journal, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.

After exploring the databases above, go to https://library.tulane.edu/, click the button for Library Guides, find a subject library guide that fits your topic and explore the recommended databases for that subject.

Getting the full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the button. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.