Academic research is a process with many steps and is almost never linear. Researchers often go back to earlier steps as they read, write, and ask new questions along the way.
Before you begin, make a plan. Think about how much time you have to complete your project and what steps you will need to take to get there.
Once you have a plan, use reference materials like encyclopedias to get background information on your topic, discover important authors and titles in your field, and learn the vocabulary you need to find additional resources. You can also read literature reviews on your topic to find the latest research and recently published studies.
These subject specific encyclopedias and dictionaries are available online.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology by
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
