Library Guides: Anthropology Library Guide: Websites

Websites

ABZU: Guide to Resources for the Study of the Ancient Near East Available on the Internet
Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Louisiana Division of Archaeology
The Louisiana Division of Archaeology has state and federal roles relating to recording, protecting, and distributing information about the state's archaeological sites.
The Division of Archaeology offers several databases to help with archaeological research and Section 106 investigative projects.
more...less...
Administrative hierarchy
Office of Lieutenant Governor
Department of Culture, Recreation & Tourism (CRT)
Office of Cultural Development
Anthrodendum
Anthrodendum, Anthro{dendum} is a group blog devoted to ‘doing anthropology in public’ — providing well-written relevant discussion of sociocultural anthropology that everyone will find accessible. Our authors range from graduate students to tenured professors to anthropologists working outside the academy.

AAA's Anthropology Resources on the Internet
Presented by the American Anthropology Association, a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web.
American Folklife Center
Library of congress website providing ethnographic resources related to folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and the humanities.
Ancestors in Africa
Materials prepared as part of a project funded by the UK Higher Education funding council. Provides case study materials related to the Mambila of Nigeria and Cameroon and the practice of ancestor cult worship.
Folklife in Louisiana
The Louisiana Folklife Program, within the Louisiana Division of the Arts, is designed to identify, document, conserve, and present the folk cultural resources of Louisiana.
Guide to the Indigenous Materials at the American Philosophical Society
This guide provides comprehensive coverage of the Native American and Indigenous archival collections at the Library of the American Philosophical Society. These materials date from 1553 to the present and include manuscript, audio, and visual materials relating to indigenous peoples throughout the Americas.
Imponderabilia: International Student Anthropology Journal
Imponderabilia is a multidisciplinary student journal, a platform to share and exchange ideas, criticisms and reflections on anything anthropological.
Native American Ethnobotany
A database of plants used as drugs, foods, dyes, fibers, and more, by native Peoples of North America.

Archives of Cajun & Creole Folklore (University of Louisiana at Lafayette)
Begun in 1974, the collection is the most comprehensive repository of recorded and transcribed materials on French in Louisiana, as well as the Upper Mississippi River Valley, French Canada, the West Indies, and Africa. Materials cover folktales, legends, ballads, dance tunes, oral history, and popular culture.
more...less...
The archive represents the collection and preservation activities of several generations of folklorists, ethnomusicologists, linguists, and other cultural resource management professionals. The oldest recordings contained in the collection are on wax cylinders, and many music and oral history interviews were originally recorded on reel-to-reel tape.
Archive of Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)
A digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America
Cascadilla Press
Contains two directories: the Linguistics Working Papers Directory, which indexes current and past collections of working papers in the field, and the Linguistics Proceedings Directory, which does the same for conference proceedings.
Forvo: the Pronunciation Guide
Described as "the largest word pronunciation dictionary in the world," includes audio playback clips of word pronunciations by native speakers in over 280 languages. The database was launched in 2008 and now contains over 1,250,000 pronunciations of nearly 1,200,000 words.
Modern Language Association Language Map
A map of languages spoken and taught in the United States, based on US Census data.
Open Language Archives Community (OLAC)
An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.
World Loanword Database (WOLD)
Provides vocabularies (mini-dictionaries of about 1000-2000 entries) of 41 languages from around the world, with comprehensive information about the loanword status of each word. It allows users to find loanwords, source words and donor languages in each of the 41 languages.

American Museum of Natural History
Provides free access to online journals containing fieldwork conducted by museum scientists in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontaology, geology, evolution, and anthropology. The Anthropological Papers, contain monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.

Anthropology @ Tulane

Anthropology at Tulane University
The teaching and research interests of the faculty have global reach: North America (the southeastern and southwestern United States), Mesoamerica and Central America (Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, El Salvador, and Costa Rica), South America (Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, and Peru), Africa (Egypt, Niger, and Nigeria), Europe (France and Portugal), and Asia (China and Viet Nam).
eKaqchikel Project
A project to create technology-based teaching materials based on the intensive summer institute on Kaqchikel Maya language and culture, Oxlajuj Aj, founded and currently organized by Judith Maxwell, linguist and cultural anthropologist at Tulane.