Full-length ethnographies are usually published as books. Try these search tips on the Howard-Tilton homepage to find ethnographic books.
If searching for a North or South American tribe use the "group name" + "Indian":
If searching for an African, European or Asian tribe use the "group name" + "continent" + "people":
It is easier to find books on some tribal groups by just using their tribal names. Note: the spelling of names in library search tools may differ from an author's spelling.
Which word do I use: Ethnology or Ethnography?
These two terms are often used interchangeably although their definitions are somewhat different. Remember, an ethnography is the the study of single groups through direct contact with the culture, while an ethnology takes the research that ethnographers have compiled and then compares and contrasts different cultures. An ethnography provides descriptive analysis, while an ethnology provides theoretical analysis. Try searching with the following combinations:
"ETHNOLOGY" or "ETHNOGRAPHY" and the name of a country:
"ETHNOLOGY" or "ETHNOGRAPHY" and the name of a tribe or ethnic group:
Other Ethno- terms you may want to consider:
Anthropologists may also find historical studies helpful when conducting research on a specific cultural group. Those working on Asian topics may want to explore the Bibliography of Asian Studies.
There are many encyclopedias and reference sources dedicated to specific cultural groups and traditions. Below are just a few of those available at Howard-Tilton. Ask a librarian if you need help locating a similar work on the cultural group you're researching.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife by 
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions by Print encyclopedias on general aspects of cultural anthropology are also available in the stacks at Howard-Tilton.
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology by 
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by 
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art by 