Library Guides: Anatomy, Embryology & Molecular Cell Biology for Medical Students: Course Guide: Open Access sites

Selected Anatomy Websites

Draw It To Know It (ditki) This link opens in a new window
The Draw It to Know It collection (ditki) provides a repository of reference materials, photographs, and illustrations for learning the medical and biological sciences and is designed to help medical students learn more efficiently. The resource focuses on an active learning approach to anatomy, biochemistry, biology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, and physiology.

Anatomy Atlases / Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.
A digital library of anatomy information.
The Cell: An Image Library, from the American Society for Cell Biology.
Open-access resource sponsored by the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB)
more...less...
Nearly 9,000 multimedia files. ASCB - "the site is primarily a research tool, but also an educational resource". Choice- 53-1071, Nov. 2015
Health Videos from MedlinePlus
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy
Collection of stereoscopic anatomy images from the Lane Library at Stanford. Use and copyright discussed on home page of Bassett collection.
Dartmouth Medical School Department of Anatomy
Images of: human anatomy, cells tissues organs, neuroanatomy
E-Skeleton Project
A study of human and primate comparative anatomy. Digitized versions of skeletons in full color, animations, and much supplemental information.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features engraving from the classic 1918 publication. Includes a subject index.
Virtual Autopsy
Anatomy and physiology clinical cases. Includes a history and autopsy reports in the form of an Interactive Cadaver.
Whole Brain Atlas
Collection of MRI, MRA, PET images of normal and diseased brains from Harvard.
A Guided Tour of the Visible Human
An introduction and tour with images and animation to teach key concepts in human anatomy from The Visible Human Project. Cross-sectional anatomy, planes of section with animations, interactive annotations.