Library Guides: AFRS-3300/7810: Blackness in Latin America: Find News

About

This section contains a variety of news databases, online newspapers and blogs, podcasts, and video archives to help you locate a news item relating to Afro-Latinxs in the U.S. and/or Africans and Afro-descendants in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Databases

These databases allow full-text searches of current news sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage varies depending on the newspapers included in each database.

Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from 11 Latin American countries and Puerto Rico. Click on the PUBLICATIONS tab to see which newspapers and years are included in this database.
Access World News - Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This vast collection with world coverage includes 50 news sources from South America, 16 from Central America, 16 from the Caribbean, and 12 from Mexico. Use the map or A-Z Source List to see which news sources are included in this database.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, and other sources of business and general news, plus company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. Allows you to search by region including: Argentina, Brazil, the European Union, Mexico, and Spain. Note: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.

Analysis, Digests, and Reports

On the following sites you can find Latin America-focused news digests, bulletins and intelligence reports. These resources provide commentary and contextual information on current events.

NACLA Report on the Americas
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides information and analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean. Their archives are searchable by year and keyword.

Latin American News Digest This link opens in a new window
Latin American News Digest aggregates the news of the Latin American media to provide a wide spectrum coverage of news and commentary, produced by Latin Americans, for Latin Americans.

EcoAméricas
A monthly report in Spanish and English which covers development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience of businesses, NGOs and public agencies.
Latin America Daily Briefing
Daily dispatch of news from Latin America and the Caribbean--a mix of stories from the international and local press, as well as analysis from think tanks, academics and other commentators.
LatinNews
Political and economic digest and analysis.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search economics reports, news, and forecasts by country.

América Latina en Movimiento
Online newspaper of the Agencia Latinoamericana de Información, an international organization whose stated mission is to cover human rights, gender equality and citizen participation in the development and public affairs of Latin America. Available in English, Spanish & Portuguese.
Inter Press Service
Agency dedicated to "news and views from the Global South."
MercoPress
Based in Montevideo, Uruguay, MercoPress is an independent news agency started in 1993 which focuses on delivering news related to the Mercosur trade and political bloc, and member countries, covering an area of influence which includes South America, the South Atlantic and insular territories. Available in English & Spanish.

U.S. Newspaper Databases: Contemporary

Below are some major U.S. newspaper databases that the library subscribes to. You can also search the websites of major English language newspapers in the U.S. (NYTimes, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post...) and U.K. (BBC, The Guardian...) for the most recent international news from the last 3 months or so.

New York Times (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers - Recent) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers - Recent) This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Digitized Newspapers - Recent) This link opens in a new window

Newspaper Databases: Historical

*Note the multiple databases to search African-American newspapers, which sometimes covered news events pertaining to the African Diaspora in Latin America

*Remember that if you are looking for news from the mid-20th-century, you may have to try "negro/s" and other antiquated terms as a keyword

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window

Black Newspapers Search

Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post (1877-1996) This link opens in a new window

English-Language Latin American & Caribbean Newspapers

Cana News
Based in Barbados, Cana News is an online publication of the Caribbean Media Corporation. It provides English-language coverage of the Caribbean.
Inter Press Service
"News & views from the Global South."
MercoPress
Based in Montevideo, Uruguay, MercoPress is an independent news agency started in 1993 which focuses on delivering news related to the Mercosur trade and political bloc, and member countries, covering an area of influence which includes South America, the South Atlantic and insular territories. Available in English & Spanish.

Aruba Today

The Cayman Compass

The Santiago Times

The Tico Times

Granma International - Official Voice of the Communist Party of Cuba Central Committee

The Dominican

Spiceislander.com

Guyana Chronicle

The Haitian Times

The San Juan Daily Star

The St. Kitts & Nevis Observer

The St. Lucia Star

Venezuela Analysis

Blogs

Remezcla
Remezcla started as a grassroots project among writers and creatives to showcase new Latin music, culture, and events outside not receiving covering in major media outlets.

If you find other blogs online, be sure to evaluate:

Who is the author? What credentials and authority do they have?
Who is the publisher, news organization, university, or institute backing the blog?
Where are they getting their sources? Does the author refer to other sources that you can confirm and follow-up on?

Podcasts & Radio

Platforms & Programs

AFROSAYA: The AfroLatino Podcast
Produced by Alex Gutierrez, who has worked with Black communities in Latin America for more than 12 years. Episodes advocate for access to education, health and justice for all, and occasionally include guest speakers.
Radio Caña Negra
Podcast & trainings by "three Black Central American macheteras about Blackness beyond borders, life, politics, love, anti-blackness among Latines, kids & more."
Latino USA
Latino USA is a nationally syndicated public radio program produced by The Futuro Media Group and distributed nationwide by National Public Radio. Its focus is Latinxs and Latin American immigrants in the U.S.
Alt.Latino
NPR podcast on Latinx arts and culture.
Code Switch
Program centered on issues of race and identity, which often covers immigration and Latinx stories.
NPR (National Public Radio)
National Public Radio is an American privately and publicly funded non-profit membership media organization based in Washington, D.C. It serves as a national syndicator to a network of over 1,000 public radio stations in the United States.
PRI (Public Radio International)
Public Radio International (PRI) is a global non-profit media company focused on the intersection of journalism and engagement to effect positive change in people’s lives. Its products include national radio programs such as PRI’s The World®, The Takeaway, and Studio 360®; the website PRI.org; podcasts such as World in Words and Otherhood; and story initiatives such as Across Women’s Lives (documenting the power of women to improve their communities), Global Nation (revealing America’s changing population and issues facing its growing immigrant population), and Global Security (examining international security through the eyes of millennials). Use the search bar to look for content related to your research topic across PRI products.
Stitcher
Stitcher is an on-demand Internet radio service that focuses on news and information radio and podcasts, with 65000+ searchable radio shows and podcasts. Use the search bar to look for content related to your research topic.
Radio Ambulante
Radio Ambulante is a Spanish-language podcast, distributed by NPR, that tells Latin American stories from anywhere Spanish is spoken, including the United States. Though episodes are in Spanish, they provide transcriptions into English and sometimes Portuguese on their website. In 2014, Radio Ambulante was awarded the Gabriel García Márquez Prize for Innovation in Journalism, the most prestigious journalism honor in Latin America.

Video Archives

AP Archive This link opens in a new window
The photo and video archive of The Associated Press. Video content includes attached transcripts and annotations.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.
British Movietone This link opens in a new window
British Movietone’s newsreel archive (1895 to 1986), available online via YouTube, contains coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyles and the quirky from around the world
British Pathé This link opens in a new window
British Pathé was at the forefront of cinematic journalism, blending information with entertainment to popular effect. Over the course of a century, it documented everything from major armed conflicts and seismic political crises to the curious hobbies and eccentric lives of ordinary people. Now considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivaled in their historical and cultural significance.
Open Vault (WGBH) This link opens in a new window

Use these video archives to identify an event of interest; then try search for reputable news coverage of the event through one of the databases above or on Google.

Twitter

Searching Twitter hashtags and handles can be an effective way of tracking current news. However, remember to check for the reputability of the news source you're linking out to!

Some ideas:

Check to see if any of the scholars you're reading in class are on Twitter and follow them--many academics are!
Follow journalists who tend to cover race, black culture, and the African Diaspora
Potentially useful handles to follow: @afro-latino assoc, @afrolatinofestnyc, @afrolatinprojec