African Studies Library Guide

Contains full-text 19th and 20th-century African newspapers, especially featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde empowers researchers to digitally travel back through decades to become eyewitnesses to history. Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers. Tulane's coverage is from 1944-2000.

The Black Life in America collection covers topical categories such as slavery and flights to freedom, voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice and discrimination, and activism and protest movements. It covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era. Despite the "America" title of the database, it includes many news sources published in Africa.

The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. The documents in Confidential Print: Africa begin with coastal trading in the early nineteenth century and the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa. They then follow the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. Together they cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Government’s perspective.

Apartheid South Africa makes available British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. This resource is in three sections: Section I (1948-1966), Section II (1967-1975), and Section III (1976-1980).

Archives unbound includes digitized manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents, primarily sourced from the U.S. National Archives and U.K. National Archives. Tulane has access to several collections focused on 20th-century Africa:

The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region. Formerly known as Aluka: Struggles for Freedom.

Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.

The collection consists of rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

The Archives of Sexuality & Gender includes manuscripts, articles, and ephemera digitized from Gay and Lesbian Memory in Action (GALA) in Johannesburg, South Africa. The sub-collections from this archive included in the database are: African Women's Life History Project, on female same-sex practices; Balancing Act: South African Gay & Lesbian Youth Speak Out; LEGATRA (Zambia) Collection: Alliance for the Defense of Lesbians, Gays and Transgender Persons' Basic Human Rights in Zambia; Sexual Minorities Uganda (SMUG); Simon Nkoli Collection, 1977 to 1998; Sistahs Kopanang; Sodomy Trials, Cape Archives, 1828 to 1961; and Swaziland Collection, 1997.

Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.

Multimedia collection that covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Explore the archaeology, history and culture of Africa through its heritage sites and landscapes. Includes digitized maps, photographs, manuscripts, and printed texts. Formerly known as Aluka: African Cultural Heritage Sites & Landscapes.

This collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries, and churches. This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freedmen. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.

Part of Proquest's Black Studies Center, this collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.

Primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world. Coverage of topics such as the African Coast; the Middle Passage; the varieties of slave experience (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch and plantation); Spiritualism and Religion; Resistance and Revolts; the Underground Railroad; the Abolition Movement; Legislation; Education; the Legacy of Slavery and Slavery Today.

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in the Caribbean, Latin America, and other regions. Consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps published in the U.S., U.K., England, the Netherlands, Haiti, and Spain. The majority of sources are in English, with a good strong share of French and some Spanish.

ProQuest History Vault's Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War resource consists of modules with a focus on Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; records focused on the Slave trade and other legal issues pertaining to slavery.

British Online Archives is one of the United Kingdom’s leading academic publishers. providing students and researchers in the humanities and social sciences with access to unique collections of primary source documents. The collections available via Tulane institutional access are: The West Indies: Slavery, Plantations and Trade, 1759-1832; Colonial Africa in Official Statistics, 1821-1953; The American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1763-1783; Slavery: Supporters and Abolitionists, 1675-1865; and American Slave Trade Records and Other Papers of the Tarleton Family, 1678-1838.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides primary sources, scholarly studies, images, and video on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including the Congo.