Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Travel & Tourism at the Latin American Library

Information, resources, and tips to navigate research on travel and tourism at Tulane's Latin American Library

About this Guide

Welcome to the Travel and Tourism at the Latin American Library Research Guide, where you can find information and resources to navigate research at LAL.

The Latin American Library at Tulane University is one of the most comprehensive of its kind, housing materials from the contact period to the present day. The LAL Special Collections hold a vast collection of materials related to travel and tourism in Latin America, including photo albums, letters, diaries, postcard collections. The heart of the collection is an array of travel-related ephemera, including guidebooks, posters, maps, and brochures. The ephemera collection contains materials related to many countries throughout Latin America, with Mexico and Central America as special regions of focus. The materials span the 19th and 20th centuries, and document travel by sea, rail, road and air. 

Looking for general research help? Schedule a consultation with Rachel Stein, the LAL Research & Instruction Librarian.

Looking for special collections help? Write to Christine Hernandez, the Curator of Special Collections.

We welcome you to visit us at on the fourth floor of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library. Our offices are open Monday-Friday, 8:30am-5:00pmOur general collections are open 7 days a week

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.