Library Guides: A Guide to Reference Sources: Start here.

What Are Reference Sources?

This guide is to help researchers of all levels identify authoritative reference sources to support their research. What are reference sources? Reference sources are resources used to locate authoritative facts, background materials and basic information at the start of your research.

Major Digital Reference Sources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Literati (by Credo) This link opens in a new window
When you need answers fast. Literati is a solid starting point for research and learning that offers unlimited access to hundreds of full text reference books on every subject.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Explore a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, background information, and translations found in dictionaries and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A social sciences digital library that includes a range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, videos, and more.